Skip to content

Elk Mound boys’ and girls’ track teams will show strength in numbers

By LeAnn R. Ralph

ELK MOUND  — In terms of numbers, the Elk Mound High School boys’ and girls’ track teams — both conference champions in 2017 — will have a strong showing this year.

All together 74 Elk Mound students have signed up for track: 46 boys and 28 girls.

“Our strengths will be in field events, high jump and long jump. The girls’ sprint relays will also be competitive,” said Jonathon Langreck, head coach.

“The weakness will be in the depth of the boys’ sprinters,” he said.

Athletes who graduated in 2017 were Noah Zurbuchen, Tyler Sahm, Chandler Schreiber, George Friberg and Hunter Johnson.

All of the athletes who graduated were known for their leadership and were all letter winners all four years they were in high school, said Langreck, who is in his fifth year of coaching and his first year as head coach.

Team members in girls’ track who are returning and are expected to be an asset to the team are Hannah Cedarblade, Maddie Jensen, Claudia Paul, Alana Plaszcz, Brook Plaszcz, Paige VanSchoonhoven and Syd Simpson.

“All are letter winners from last year, and they all bring great experience and depth,” Langreck said.

Team members in boys’ track who are returning and are expected to be an asset to the team are Jake Johnson and Tyler Brantner.

“They have a chance to make it to state,” Langreck said.

Newcomers who seem to have potential “are yet to be determined. We have a large group of freshmen boys, and we are hoping some will step up and compete on the track,” he said.

The goals for this years’ track teams “will be to defend the conference championships,” Langreck said.

As for the top competitors in the conference, “I believe Durand and Colfax will challenge us well on the track with great sprinters and a good mix in the long distance athletes,” he said.

Assistant track coaches this season are Amie Stillman (shot put and disc); Jeremiah Fredrickson (pole vault and mid distance); and Kyle Hazen (long distance).

Boys’ team

Here are the students who have signed up for the 2018 boys’ track team:

Seniors — Andrew Benson, Tyler Brantner, Evan Brown, Aric Jenson, Jake Johnson, Bryce Kasper, Nate Lind, Conner Mavis, Ryan Mohr, William Muszynski and Jared Strand.

Juniors — Jack Emberson, Rian Flynn, Dylan Hanson, Cameron Johnson, Marquis Kaskaitas, Brady Redwine and Isiah Wald.

Sophomores — Carter Brantner, Kyle Deling, Dominic Hull, Cade Hanson, Seth Hazen, Jacob Miller, Weston Moschkau, Andres Pathos and Gaelen Young.

Freshmen — Martin Brueggen, Colten Cassellius, Jack Gabert, Mitchell Hainstock, Luke Hanson, Mason Hay, Aaron Huer, Alex Johnson, Ethan Levra, Avery Lauer, Keagan McKrea, Antonio Myers, Javon Pinley, Mitchell Ruppelt, Cullen Schlewitz, Ryder Simington, Oscar Wald, Jayden Wyrwick and Brennen Zais.

Girls’ team

Here are the students who have signed up for the 2018 girls’ track team:

Seniors — Hanna Carlson, Hannah Cedarblade, Kyla Egan, Maddie Jensen, Mattea Linberg, Claudia Paul, Kayla Patterson, Sira Shephard and Courtney Zurbuchen.

Juniors — Victoria Fasbender, Abby Kasper, Alana Plaszcz, Brook Plaszcz, Hanna Simpson, Sydney Simpson and Audrey Wescott.

Sophomores — Sophie Cedarblade, Kortnee Halgren, Lizzy Lindquist, Kristein Martinson, Nikki Munthe and Paige VanSchoonhoven.

Freshmen — Bailey Gilbertson, Lexi Lawrence, Morgan Kinblom, Chloe Simpson, Kennedy Pritchard and Bryanna Troutz.