Skip to content

GC girls’ Cross Country repeats as D-SC champs, boys fifth; MS boys’ win, girls’ third

By Cara L. Dempski

COLFAX — The Glenwood City ladies have done it again.

The Hilltopper girls’ cross country team headed to Colfax’s Whitetail Golf Course last Thursday, October 12 for the 2017 Dunn-St. Croix Conference Cross Country meet knowing they stood a good chance of  repeating as the conference champions.

And the Glenwood City girls did just that as they captured a second straight conference title and their third in four years with a winning tally of 27 points to best runner-up Elk Mound, who finished with 56 points.

The GC boys’ team finished the meet in fifth place out of seven teams with 119 points.

The Lady Hilltoppers had all five of its scoring runners finish in the top 10, with Isabella Williams leading the way. The sophomore took third place overall after finishing in 21:05.29. Junior exchange student Julia Dinkel was next to the finish line, running a 21:35.16 for fifth.

Megan Speiser picked up seventh place with a time of 21:52.17, Elizabeth Wink was eighth after a 21:57.22 finish, Emily Bethell was ninth after a 22:00.19 run, and Makayla O’Brien landed in 10th following a 22:06.73 race.

All six of these Topper ladies earned all conference honors. Williams, Dinkel and Speiser were first team selections with their top seven finishes while Wink, Bethell and O’Brien made the second team cut by finishing between eighth and 14th place.

The top seven individual finishers are awarded first-team all-conference honors with the eighth through 14th place finishers earning second-team distinction.

Freshman Gabby Moede just missed making the all-conference teams as she finished 15th in a time of 22:41.88.  Fellow freshman Myah Eliason placed 24th with her run of 23:42.01.

Hanna Strehlo, Alexis Swanepoel, Annika Bauman, Emma Scholler, Marie Schmidt and Alina Spister also competed in the race.

While the Lady Toppers took home the team trophy, it was Elmwood/Plum City senior Kassye Todd who ran away with another individual conference title after finishing in 19:39.99.

Senior Jacob Nadeau, who finished with second-team all-conference honors, was the first Hilltopper boy to the finish line in the conference race, taking 10th with a time of 18:19.77. Jabin Hojem finished in 18:54.73 for 16th, and Matthew Bauman finished in 21st with his 19:10.40 race.

Matthew O’Brien ran a 20:09.71 for 35th, Elijah Simmons was 42nd after a 21:08.88 finish, Bradley Kessler was 47th with a time of 21:25.02, and Henry Wallin took 54th as the final scored runner for GC with a time of 22:24.02. Kyle Meyers also competed in the race, taking 63rd with a 23:07.08 finish.

The Hilltopper cross country teams are now focusing on the WIAA Division 3 sectional race which will be held this Saturday, October 21 at Boyceville’s Tiffany Creek Elementary school. 

The Glenwood City girls’ squad will be looking to repeat as sectional champions and earn a fourth straight trip to the state championships to be held in Wisconsin Rapids on Saturday, October 28. The Toppers girls’ team has won the sectional title two of the past three years (2016 and 2014) and were runners-up the other year.

GIRLS’ INDIVIDUAL RESULTS: 3. Isabella Williams 21:05.29, 5. Julia Dinkel 21:35.16, 7. Megan Speiser 21:52.17, 8. Elizabeth Wink 21:57.22, 9. Emily Bethell 22:00.19, 10. Makayla O’Brien 22:06.73, 15. Gabby Moede 22:41.88, 24. Myah Eliason 23:42.01, 28. Hanna Strehlo 24:00.99, 40. Alexis Swanepoel 25:36.29, 41. Annika Bauman 25:50.02, 46. Emma Scholler 26:50.09, 51. Marie Schmidt 27:41.10, 55. Alina Spister 31:01.24.

GIRLS’ TEAM RESULTS: 1. Glenwood City 27, 2. Elk Mound 56, 3. Colfax 81, 4. Durand 111, 5. Boyceville 117, 6. Spring Valley 140.

BOYS’ INDIVIDUAL RESULTS: 10. Jacob Nadeau 18:19.77, 16. Jabin Hojem 18:54.73, 21. Matthew Bauman 19:10.40, 35. Matthew O’Brien 20:09.71, 42. Elijah Simmons 21:08.88, 47. Bradley Kessler 21:25.02, 54. Henry Wallin 22:24.02, 63. Kyle Meyers 23:07.08.

BOYS’ TEAM  RESULTS: 1. Durand 20, 2. Elk Mound 47, 3. Colfax 91, 4. Spring Valley 91, 5. Glenwood City 119, 6. Boyceville 129, 7. Mondovi 211.

Middle School

The Hilltopper boys won the middle school team standings with just 37 points, while the girls’ team was second behind Colfax with a score of 62.

Topper runners JJ Williams and Brady McCarthy had the one-two race finish in the 3200-meter race with times of 10:52.88 and 10:55.26. Thomas Moede finished in fourth place after an 11:41.31 race, and Elek Anderson was 11th with a time of 12:06.95.

Owen Nerby, John Hager and Ben Wittmer finished the scored competitors for the GC middle-school boys with times of 12:48.74, 12:57.50 and 13:05.68 respectively to take 19th, 20th and 21st. Henry Draxler, Owen Bauman and Brendan Booth also competed in the race for the boys.

The girls’ team was led by Isabella Simmons, who took fourth place with 12:50.29. Samantha Peterson was 10th after a 13:05.01, Kendall Schutz took 12th after 13:16.76, and Savanna Millermon finished in 13:19.32 for 13th.

Ella Knops was 27th with a time of 14:06.64, Natelle McCarthy finished in 31st after a 14:21.93 race, and Libby Wagner finished in 14:48.12 for 34th.

Payten Knops, Lyra Ketola, Isabel Christmas, Whittnie Wittmer, McKenna Phalin and Chloe Wittmer also competed for the GC middle school girls.

The Lady Vikings won the middle school team trophy with just 51 points, and Colfax’s Molly Heidorn won the girls’ race with a time of 12:06.47.