Elk Mound chooses D-SC scholar athletes

By Cara L. Dempski

In 2016, the Dunn-St. Croix athletic directors held their first conference scholar athlete banquet to honor D-SC athletes for their success in the classroom as well as their athletic success.

One female and one male athlete from each D-SC school is nominated for the award. Criteria for nomination include grade point average, number of varsity letters earned in high school, individual awards and participation in the lead-up to state-level competition.

This year’s athletes will be recognized at the conference level with an April 5 banquet held at Stout Ale House. The keynote speaker Durand district superintendent Greg Corning, and each athlete will be formally recognized.

Seniors Elizabeth Fasbender and Dane Lew were nominated as Elk Mound’s scholar athletes for 2017.

Fasbender earned varsity letters in basketball and cross country all four years of high school, and lettered in track three years. She was twice selected as the D-SC girls’ basketball player of the year, and has multiple all conference mentions in all three sports.

She traveled to state cross country as an individual in 2014 and 2015 before earning a team berth in 2016. Fasbender also competed at the 2016 state track meet in the 3200m race.

The senior has also won multiple team honors. She was named the basketball team defensive player of the year for 2014 and 2015, offensive player of the year and teammate of the year in 2016, and team captain for the 2016-2017 season. Fasbender also earned best-player honors for the 2013 Luther Holiday Tournament.

She was named cross country MVP for 2013-2016, and holds the girls’ 5k record time of 20:37.5. In track, Fasbender was MVP 2014-2016, and holds the girls’ school records for the 1600m (5:36.94) and 3200m (12:10) runs.

She has maintained a 4.00 GPA throughout high school, and will graduate fifth of 66 students in the class of 2017.

Lew holds a 3.8 cumulative GPA to take 15th in the Class of 2017. He is a member of national honor society, is a WIAA scholar-athlete nominee, and was selected as one of the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association’s academic all-state honorees in 2016.

The senior lettered four years in football and basketball, and two years in baseball. He was named to all-conference football teams from 2014-2016, is the 2016-2017 D-SC boys’ basketball player of the year, and earned first-team all conference honors in the sport.

Lew was an all conference athlete all four years of his high school basketball career, and part of the 2013-2014 state-qualified team.

He earned a baseball letter in both 2014 and 2015, but sat out much of the 2016 season due to injury.

Lew was basketball and baseball team captain for two years. He earned team MVP awards for both the 2015-2016 and 2016-2017 seasons, and was selected to play in the 2017 WBCA all-star game for the Division 3 North team. The senior was also named to the Sentry Classic Holiday Tournament All-Classic team in 2016, to the 2015 Auburndale Holiday Tournament all-tournament team, and Eau Claire Leader Telegram’s fifth-team All-northwest.

In baseball, Lew was honored in 2014 as the rookie of the year.