Skip to content

Local students receive UW-Stout scholarships

MENOMONIE — Scholarships valued at more than $680,000 were awarded to 360 University of Wisconsin-Stout students this year through the Stout University Foundation.

Five students from the area were among those who were awarded.

Isaac Boyd of Boyceville, who is majoring in psychology, received the Violette Parsons Weeks Endowed Scholarship

Brandee Farrell of Boyceville, who is majoring in clinical mental health counseling, received the Dr. Amy L. Gillett Graduate Scholarship

Kori Klaustermeier of Boyceville, who is majoring in hotel, restaurant and tourism management, received the Theodore C. Widder Jr. Endowed Scholarship; Daniel M. Schedler Memorial Scholarship.

Kayla Hefti of Elk Mound, who is majoring in special education, received the Chippewa Valley Extra Effort Scholarship.

Patrick Best of Wheeler, who is majoring in applied science,  received the Paul Frederick Kabot Memorial Endowed Scholarship.

The students received the awards during a scholarship reception on campus in September. Many of the scholarship donors and members of the board of directors personally presented the awards.

Established in 1962, the Stout University Foundation Scholarship Program has helped more than 8,400 students receive a college education. Through the financial support of alumni, parents, faculty, staff and friends of the university, the program has awarded more than $10 million over the years.