Skip to content

Boyceville Science Olympiad Earns Team Championships at 17th Boyceville Invite

SHOWN in the photo are Delanie Olson (left) and Emily Fetzer (right). The duo brought home gold medals in the Forensics and Horticulture events at last Saturday’s Boyceville Science Olympiad Invitational. —photo by Steve Duerst

BOYCEVILLE – The Boyceville Science Olympiad program hosted their 17th Annual Invitational Tournament this past weekend with Division 2 team championships at both the middle school and high school levels.  Boyceville also hosted a Satellite Science Olympiad tournament virtually, with nearly 400 teams competing, when combined with the 93 teams in-person added up to nearly 500 teams competing this year.  This accounts for nearly one in ten teams in the nation  competing at the Boyceville Invitational.  Boyceville High School medal winners were as follows:

Gold medals were earned by the following:

Seniors Parker Coombs and Zach Kersten in Air Trajectory

Sophomores Chelsi Holden and William Engel in Air Trajectory (JV)

Senior Becca Wyss and Kersten in Flight

Sophomore Jon Madison and Engel in Flight (JV)

Juniors Delaney Olson and Emily Fetzer in Forensics

Senior Kylie Luedtke and sophomore Johanna Antunicci in Fossils

Senior Peter Wheeldon and sophomore Karen Schaff in Geocaching

D. Olson and Fetzer in Horticulture

Coombs and Wheeldon in Scrambler

Coombs and Fetzer in Towers

Coombs and Wheeldon in Wind Power

Fetzer and D. Olson in Write It, Do It

Silver medals were earned by the following:

Wheeldon, Wyss, and Coombs in Experimental Design

Seniors Alison McRoberts and Hannah Dunn in Horticulture (JV)

Schaff and Luedtke in Microbe Mission

Wyss and sophomore Loralie West in Optics

Wheeldon and Kersten in Robot Tour

Engel and sophomore Zoey Hellendrung in Scrambler (JV)

Senior Cora Leslie and Dunn in Towers (JV)

Engel and Holden in Wind Power (JV)

Bronze medals were earned by the following:

Wyss and Coombs in Detector Building

Freshmen Devon Lee and Myles Keck in Flight (JV)

IN THE Wind Power event teams score points in two ways. First, they build a wind turbine and earn points based on efficiency. Teams also earn points by how well they do on the written test. Peter Wheeldon (left) and Parker Coombs (right) took first place in the Small School division. —photo by Steve Duerst

Sophomore Anna Hafermann and West in Geologic mapping

Freshmen Isabelle Konsti and Sawyer Garbe in Horticulture (JV)

Senior Treylin Thorson in Scrambler (JV)

Holden and Hellendrung in Towers (JV)

Fourth place medals were earned by the following:

Schaff and Luedtke in Anatomy & Physiology

Juniors Tayler Drinkman and Olivia Jones in Astronomy (JV)

West and Hafermann in Dynamic Planet

Hellendrung and Holden in Experimental Design (JV)

Leslie and Dunn in Flight (JV)

Lee and Keck in Scrambler (JV)

Sophomores Aiden Brown and Cash Nielson in Towers (JV)

Thorson in Wind Power

Fifth place medals were earned by the following:

Junior Pedro Fernandez and Luedtke in Chemistry Lab

Wheeldon, Wyss, and Kersten in Codebusters

Sixth place medals were earned by the following:

Sophomore Abigail Bauer and Kersten in Mystery Architecture

Jon Madison and Engel in Mystery Architecture (JV)

Boyceville Middle School medal winners were as follows:

Gold medals were earned by the following:

Ninth grader Kade Phillips and seventh grader Easton Lange in Air Trajectory

Ninth graders Ava Dormanen and Emily Jackson in Can’t Judge a Powder

Dormanen and E. Jackson in Crime Busters

Ninth grader Eleanor Farrell and E. Jackson in Disease Detectives

Dormanen, ninth grader Brady Rasmussen, and Farrell in Experimental Design

Seventh grader Clayton Score and Lange in Flight

Eighth graders Eli Weber and Walter Schaff in Forestry

Score and Lange in Geocaching

Dormanen and E. Jackson in Horticulture

Weber and W. Schaff in Mystery Architecture

Weber and W. Schaff in Optics

Dormanen, Farrell, and E. Jackson in Picture This

Rasmussen and seventh grader Sara Hafermann in Reach for the Stars

Rasmussen and Farrell in Road Scholar

Score and Phillips in Robo Cross

Score and Lange in Roller Coaster

Eighth grader Isabelle Feeney and Score in Towers

Seventh graders Aubrie Humpal and Jillian Boesl in Towers (JV)

Silver medals were earned by the following:

Eighth graders Arnold Sudbrink and Tim Jackson in Air Trajectory (JV)

Rasmussen and Farrell in Ecology

Sudbrink and T. Jackson in Flight (JV)

Humpal and Boesl in Horticulture (JV)

Seventh graders Eli Cassellius and RJ Swenby in Roller Coaster

Lange and Phillips in Wheeled Vehicle

Humpal and Boesl in Wheeled Vehicle (JV)

Weber and W. Schaff in Wind Power

Bronze medals were earned by the following:

Sixth graders Aiden Feeney and Logan Monfort in Air Trajectory (JV)

Lange, Score, and I. Feeney in Codebusters

Farrell and S. Hafermann in Dynamic Planet

Seventh grader Amelia Henningfeld and sixth grader Samantha Bauer in Roller Coaster (JV)

Seventh graders Chris Madison and JB Mittlestadt in Towers (JV)

I. Feeney and Phillips in Write It, Do It

Fourth place medals were earned by the following:

I. Feeney in Anatomy & Physiology

Humpal and Boesl in Flight (JV)

E. Jackson and Hafermann in Fossils

Dormanen and S. Hafermann in Meteorology

C. Madison and Mittlestadt in Mystery Architecture (JV)

Cassellius and Swenby in Wheeled Vehicle (JV)

Fifth place medals were earned by the following:

Eighth grader Vance Olson in Air Trajectory (JV)

Rasmussen and Phillips in Fast Facts

I. Feeney and W. Schaff in Microbe Mission

Henningfeld and S. Bauer in Mystery Architecture (JV)

Sixth grader Elizabeth Tegart and Monfort in Robo Cross (JV)

“It was so exciting to host this many teams in Boyceville” said head coach Andy Hamm.  “Our kids have worked hard already this year and I am so appreciative of our supportive staff, parents, and students in making this tournament possible.  We had some great success and it is a testament to the hard work of all of the students.”

Boyceville will next be in action at the Medford Invitational  and UW-River Falls in January.  Boyceville Science Olympiad is coached by Andy Hamm, Russ Riehbrandt, and Steve Duerst.

Final Results of the 17th
Annual Boyceville High School
Science Olympiad Invitational

High School Results
Varsity Teams Only

Rank School Division Score

1 Madison West 1 106

2 Mounds View (MN) 1 109

3 Menomonie 1 122

4 Hudson 1 135

5 Rochester Mayo (MN) 1 137

6 Eden Prairie (MN) 1 137

7 Boyceville 2 144

8 Wayzata (MN) 1 159

9 Medford 2 165

10 Belleville 2 221

11 New Richmond 2 241

12 Eastview (MN) 1 277

13 Minnetonka (MN) 1 283

14 Shell Lake 2 299

15 East Ridge (MN) 1 300

16 Bloom. Kennedy (MN) 1 312

17 Wausau West 1 337

18 Unity 2 369

19 Baldwin-Woodville 2 375

20 Weyauwega-Fremont 2 382

21 Colfax 2 407

22 Elmwood 2 460

23 Middleton 2 465

24 Owatonna (MN) 2 499

25 Elk Mound 2 503

26 Bloom. Jefferson (MN) 1 505

27 Sparta 2 514

28 St. Michael-Albert. (MN) 2 558

29 Tomah 2 609

30 Cadott 2 639

Middle School Results

Varsity Teams Only

Rank School Division Score

1 Madison Hamilton 1 59

2 Boyceville 2 61

3 Chippewa (MN) 1 71

4 Menomonie 1 74

5 Sparta Innov. STEM 2 100

6 Hudson 1 120

7 Unity 2 128

8 Medford 2 163

9 Elmwood 2 180

10 New Richmond 2 228

11 Stanley-Boyd 2 275

12 Cadott 2 305

13 St. Michael-Albert. East (MN)1 305

14 St. Michael-Albert. West (MN)1 333

Leave a Comment