Skip to content

Election begins for State Potato Board

MADISON — Wisconsin potato growers have until June 15, 2021 to vote to elect there members to the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board. Candidates were nominated during the period ended April 1, 2021. District one, two and three each have one open seat. Eligible growers can vote for the candidate in their respective district or write in other eligible producers.

The nominee in District number one that includes the counties of Dunn, St. Croix, Polk and Price, is Eric Schroeder of Antigo.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) will mail ballots to eligible potato growers the week of May 15, 2021. Growers that have not received a ballot by May 22, 2021 can request one by contacting Debbie Gegare, DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator, at 608-224-5116. Ballots must be emailed or postmarked by June 30, 2021.

Elected producers will serve a three-year terms beginning July 1, 2021.

The Wisconsin Potato Industry Board is composed of nine producers in three districts across the state, with one at-large member elected every third year. The board is responsible for administering Wisconsin’s Potato Market Order. The board also secures and distributes funding for research, education, and promotion of Wisconsin-grown potatoes.

Leave a Comment