Skip to content

UMD’s Labovitz School of Business and Economics announces spring academic award winners

The Labovitz School of Business and Economics at the University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) announces the recipients of Spring Semester’s Excellence and Achievement academic awards. 

The annual awards showcase the school’s graduating students who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments and exemplary work during their academic career. Recipients are chosen by faculty, who, depending upon the award, consider a number of factors including overall GPA and leadership in extracurricular activities. 

“While LSBE has many outstanding students, we are proud to recognize those that have risen to the very top, distinguishing themselves as hardworking leaders who have excelled in surpassing our rigorous academic expectations,” said Interim LSBE Dean Praveen Aggarwal. “We celebrate their educational accomplishments, which we are confident foreshadow their rise as future business leaders.” 

Awards were presented to 20 individuals on April 8 in a recognition event at LSBE. 

Andrew Benson, a Senior majoring in Management, from Elk Mound, received the Academic Achievement & Commitment to the Organizational Management Profession award.

LSBE is accredited by the AACSB International (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business). Only 5% of business schools worldwide have earned this prestigious distinction. In Northeastern Minnesota, LSBE is the only school to have attained AACSB accreditation. Its website is

Leave a Comment