Skip to content

Mid-term Election Next Tuesday! National, State and County offices up for election!

The General Election is next Tuesday, November 6 where national, state and country officials are elected. Included in this election are a United States Senator, a Congressional representative, state officials including governor and other state officials, state representatives and County Sheriffs and Clerk of Circuit Court.

For Governor of the State of Wisconsin, incumbent Scott Walker is seeking his third four-year term. Democrat Tony Evers is challenging Walker for the state governor. Walker’s running mate for Lieutenant Governor is current Lieutenant governor, Rebecca Kleefisch. Evers running mate is Mandela Barnes. There are four other candidates running for governor. They are Phillip Anderson and Patrick Baird on the Libertarian ticket, Michael J. White, with Tiffany Anderson on the Wisconsin Green party. Margie Tumbull, governor an Independent and Arnie Enz of the Wisconsin Party.

Other State Constitutional offices include Attorney General. Here Josh Kaul (D), and Constitution candidate Terry Larson are challenging incumbent Brad Schimel, (R).

For Secretary of State incumbent Doug La Follette, (D) who has served in this position for 25 years is facing Jay Schroeder (R). Current State Treasurer Matt Adamczyk is not seeking re-election and Travis Hartwig (R) is running against Sarah Godiewski (D) and Andrew Zuelke (C).

United States Senator

Incumbent United States Senator Tammy Baldwin (D) is running against Leah Vukmir (R) for the six-year term. Both Baldwin and Vukmir have served in the State Assembly. Vukmir is currently serving in the State Senate from the fifth Senate District, which is near Milwaukee. Baldwin was a member of the Madison city council, served in the state assembly for 12 years and was elected to the U.S. Senate in 2012.

Representative In Congress

The area served by the Tribune Press Reporter is represent by two Congressional District. The Third Congressional District includes Dunn, Pierce, Pepin counties and the rest of the State to the south. Here incumbent Ron Kind (D) is seeking his 12th term in Congress. Republican Steve Toft, who graduated from Osseo-Fairchild High School and the UW-Eau Claire, is challenging Kind.

St. Croix County and most of the rest of the state to the north is in the seventh congressional district and incumbent, Sean Duffy (R) of Wausau, is seeking his fifth-two year term in the House of Representatives, he is being challenged by Democratic Margaret Engebretson of Superior. She served in the military for 24-years and currently is an attorney in Polk County. Also running for the District Seven seat is Ken Driessen a Direct Participatory Democracy Party candidate from Hayward.

Representative To The Assembly

For the two-year term for Representative to the Assembly from the 29th district, John Rocco Calabrese (D), and Brian Corriea (Libertarian) are challenging incumbent Rob Stafsholt (R). The 29th Assembly District includes the eastern part of St. Croix County and part of Dunn County including Downing, Boyceville and Menomonie and several townships in both counties.

In the 75th Assembly District that covers the Township of New Haven in Dunn County and the Township of Forest in St. Croix County and the Township of Clear Lake in Polk County incumbent Romaine Robert Quinn (R) is running against Ali Holzman.

District 75 is part of the State Senate District number 25 where Senator Janet Bewley (D) is be challenged by Republican James Bolen. Parts of the Counties of Barron, Polk, Burnett, Washburn, Douglas, Bayfield, Sawyer, Ashland, Iron, Pierce and Vilas are in the 25th Senate District.

County Sheriffs

County Sheriffs are up for election this year for a four-year term. In Dunn County incumbent Sheriff Dennis Smith is not seeing re-election. On next Tuesday’s ballot in Dunn County are Republican Kevin Bygd running against Democrat Rodney Dicus.

In St. Croix County Marion Shaw (D) is opposing incumbent Sheriff Scott Knutson, (R) who was appointed to the office by Governor Scott Walker.

Also on the November ballot is the Clerk of Circuit Court position. In St. Croix County Kristi L. Severson is running unopposed as a Republican. In Dunn County Republican Katie M. Schalley is running unopposed.

Election Notices

For this election cycle, the county clerks provide legal election notices and voter information, and those notices can be found within this issue of the Tribune Press Reporter. For residents of St. Croix County, the election notices are printed on a supplement inserted in this issue. For Dunn County residents, the complete notice is printed in this issue.

Leave a Comment