5 candidates file nomination papers for Dunn County sheriff

By LeAnn R. Ralph

MENOMONIE  — Five candidates for Dunn County sheriff filed nomination papers with the Dunn County Clerk’s office containing the required number of signatures by the 5 p.m. June 1 deadline.

The candidates are Adam W. Zukowski of Menomonie (Republican), Kevin Bygd of Boyceville (Republican) and Jacob T. Ohman of Menomonie (Republican), along with two Democratic candidates, Rodney J. Dicus of Elk Mound and Randy L. Knaack of Menomonie.

All together, 200 valid signatures were needed for the nomination papers by the deadline at 5 p.m. June 1.

The first day to circulate nomination papers was April 15.

Zukowski declared candidacy November 21, 2017, and turned in 289 approved signatures.

Bygd declared candidacy April 11, 2018, and turned in 399 approved signatures.

Ohman declared candidacy May 22 and turned in 224 approved signatures.

Dicus declared candidacy May 10 and turned in 313 approved signatures.

Knaack declared candidacy May 31 and turned in 267 approved signatures.

A partisan primary election will be held August 14.

Dunn County Sheriff Dennis Smith filed notification of non-candidacy April 14.

The term for sheriff expires January 7, 2019.

The general election will be held November 6.

The Dunn County Clerk of Courts also is up for election in November.

Only one candidate, Incumbent Clerk of Courts Katie M. Schalley of Elk Mound (Republican), has declared candidacy.

Schalley declared candidacy March 5 and turned in 242 approved signatures.

Dunn County Circuit Court Judges Rod Smeltzer and James Peterson appointed Schalley as clerk of courts April 7, 2017, to replace Clara Minor, who decided to retire and had served Dunn County for nearly 25 years.

Minor’s term as clerk of courts would have expired January 7, 2019. 

Leave a Comment