Skip to content

Boyceville MS Science Olympiad earns regional runner-up

MENOMONIE – Boyceville’s High School Science Olympiad team finished as the Science Olympiad West Regional Runner-Up team on Saturday, earning medals in 19 events and scoring 58 points.

Regional championship gold medals were earned by senior Jason Swanepoel and sophomore Noelle Wheeldon in both Dynamic Planet and Rocks & Minerals, senior Rian Corr and freshman Nathan Corr in Electric Wright Stuff, sophomores Noelle Wheeldon, Ana Evenson, and Caitlyn Pelikan in Picture This, seniors Emmett Kapsner and Rian Corr and junior Mark Timper in Protein Modeling, senior Casey Owen and sophomore Cade Klefstad in Towers, and Timper and Pelikan in WiFi Lab.  

Regional runner-up silver medals were earned by senior Marissa Dormanen and Timper in Anatomy, Swanepoel and Kapsner in Astronomy, sophomore Jasmine Windsor and Evenson and Pelikan in Experimental Design, senior Brennan Wheeldon and Windsor in Forensics, Owen and Kapsner in Hovercraft, Corr and Corr in Mousetrap Vehicle, Swanepoel and Windsor in Remote Sensing, and Evenson and Dormanen in Write It, Do It.

Bronze medals were earned by Noelle Wheeldon and Rian Corr in Ecology, Dormanen and Timper in Microbe Mission, Rian Corr and Swanepoel in Sustainable Energy, sophomores Emma Bygd and Steven Rasmussen in Mousetrap Vehicle, Bygd and senior Alexis Meixner in WiFi Lab, and seniors Sean Best and Nicole Drinkman in Towers.

A fourth place medal was earned by Timper and Evenson in Disease Detectives.

“Our students had an outstanding day” said Boyceville Head Coach Andy Hamm.  “To qualify our JV tournament for the state tournament is a great achievement considering the tough competition, and our varsity team did a great job finishing in 2nd overall at a very tough regional competition.”

Boyceville would also like to extend congratulations and appreciation to Menomonie High School for hosting the 2018 West Regional Science Olympiad Tournament.  Boyceville Science Olympiad is coached by Andy Hamm, Jenna Willi, and Steve Duerst.

Final Team Results
WI West Regional Tournament
HS Division – Varsity Teams Only (Div C)
1. Menomonie 33
2. Boyceville 58
3. Chippewa Falls 104
4. Onalaska 132
5. Bloomer 138
6. New Richmond 139
7. Elk Mound 161
8. Shell Lake 188
9. Baldwin-Woodville 210
10. St. Croix Central 212
11. Osseo-Fairchild 222
12. Sparta 250
13. Chetek-Weyerhaeuser 256
14. Tomah 261
15. Spring Valley 281
16. Colfax 360
17. Elmwood 414