Skip to content

Boyceville National Honor Society inducts 8 members

BOYCEVILLE – The Boyceville Chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) welcomed eight new members at its 2017 induction ceremony earlier this week after each had demonstrated that they possessed the four virtues that the National Honor Society holds dearest – Character, Scholarship, Leadership, and Service.

The Boyceville High School chapter celebrated its annual fall induction ceremony on Monday evening, November 6 as eight new members were added to the ranks. The ceremony was held in the high school commons and was well attended by members, parents, friends, and staff.

Members of Boyceville’s 2017 National Honor Society induction class included: Sarah Kapsner, Brandon Nunnery Markham, Jaida Peterson, Jaden Reisimer, Brock Schlough, Eli Swanson, Mark Timper and Seth Wruck. 

Before being accepted into the local National Honor Society, each new inductee had to meet the organization’s prerequisites and pass a stringent selections process. The Boyceville chapter invites only juniors and seniors with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher to make an application for acceptance into the organization.

Applicants are judged on their leadership skills and community involvement among other things. Each applicant must obtain character references from Boyceville staff members before a final determination of acceptance is made. Each applicant is judged on the four pillars of the NHS.

Karlene Berry, middle school/high school counselor and NHS advisor gave the ceremony’s welcome address.

Members Emily Voelker, McKenna Weber, Marissa Dormanen and Kylie Krueger each described one of the organization’s four virtues – Character, Scholarship, Leadership, and Service – in detail. These four virtues provide the criteria and structure for selecting students to the National Honor Society organization.

Berry then introduced each new member and gave a short statement on each inductee. She then had the new members recite the NHS Pledge to complete the induction ceremony.

The local society’s ranks, which increased to 30 with the addition of the new members, also includes Rylie Andrews, Hayley Bird, Rian Corr, Marissa Dormanen, Nicole Drinkman, Mariah Drury, Ryker Ferg, Kyle Holden, Hunter Holten, Garrett Joles, Emmett Kapsner, Luke Knudtson, Kylie Krueger, Nicolas Martin, Alexis Meixner, Casey Owen, Mariah Schlottman, Jason Swanepoel, Emily Voelker, McKenna Weber, Brennan Wheeldon and Haley Wold.