Skip to content

CESA 11 receives $238,500 in grant funding for Youth Apprenticeship Programs

Cooperative Educational Service Agency 11 (CESA 11) has been awarded $238,500 in grant funding for Youth Apprenticeship programs to assist high school students develop skills through a hands-on learning experience at a work site combined with classroom instruction.

Established in 1991 through the Department of Workforce Development (DWD), youth apprenticeship gives Wisconsin’s high school students the opportunity to explore career options through applicable courses in high school while earning a wage and gaining work experience.

Students who complete the Youth Apprenticeship program receive a completion certificate and may receive technical college credit and graduate with the skills needed to accept an entry-level position in their occupational area.

CESA 11 is working with 24 school districts registering Youth Apprentices in the Agriculture Food & Natural Resources, Architecture & Construction, Finance, Health Services, Hospitality, Lodging and Tourism, Information Technology, Manufacturing and Transportation, Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math, Distribution & Logistics pathways.

Currently 60 business and industry partners are now active CESA 11 Youth Apprenticeship programs. During the 2014-15 school year, CESA 11 Youth Apprenticeship program had a 96 percent employment offer rate which speaks volumes to the coordination of school-based coordinators and partners we work with the ensure our students are academic and career ready.

Schools that will benefit from the latest Youth Apprenticeship grant include: Amery School District, Baldwin-Woodville School District, Barron School District, Cameron School District, Chetek-Weyerhaeuser School District, Clayton School District, Clear Lake School District, Colfax School District, Cumberland School District, Elmwood School District, Frederic School District, Glenwood City School District, Osceola School District, Plum City School District, Prairie Farm School District, Prescott School District, Rice Lake School District, River Falls School District, Shell Lake School District, Siren School District, Somerset School District, Turtle Lake School District, Unity School District, and Webster School District.