Skip to content

Glenwood City, Boyceville musicians participate in D-SC Honors Band and Choir

PEPIN — The best high school musicians throughout the Dunn-St. Croix Conference once again renewed their friendships and a long-running tradition when they gathered in Pepin on Saturday, January 30, 2016.

The Dunn-St. Croix All-Conference Honors Band and Choir Festival marked its 38th year in January as 196 student musicians and 18 instrumental and choral directors, including a guest conductor/clinician, from ten conference schools melded at Pepin High School on Saturday, January 30 for an afternoon filled with outstanding musical performances. The collaboration included students from Boyceville, Colfax, Durand, Elk Mound, Elmwood, Glenwood City, Mondovi, Pepin, Plum City, and Spring Valley.

Glenwood City and Boyceville were once again well represented in the annual Dunn-St. Croix Music Honors Program.

Glenwood City, in particular, sent a large selection of student musicians. Glenwood City had 53 or more than a quarter of the students that participated in the 2016 event. 34 Hilltoppers comprised the 111-member band and 19 were participants of the honors choir, which was 85 voices strong.

Boyceville had nine, two musicians in the band and seven vocalists in the choir.

Started in 1979, the Dunn-St. Croix Honors Project was a way of bringing together the finest musicians in the conference. From its inception, the main philosophy was to have students from different schools work toward a common goal of cooperation and excellence rather than competing for first place. Even through conference realignments, this group of schools has remained dedicated to this goal as the Dunn-St. Croix Music Association.

For the past quarter of a century, a guest conductor/clinician led a portion of the Honors Music Festival. This year the Dunn-St. Croix Honors Band was under the direction of Dr. Glenn C. Hayes, who conducted the band’s five musical selections. Dr. Hayes is in his 29th year as Director of Bands at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. His responsibilities include conducting the Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Chamber Winds, University Band and the Warhawk Marching Band.

The Honors Choir also performed five vocal selections and were under the direction of Elmwood’s Taylor Wallace, Spring Valley’s Debbie Bowman, Boyceville’s Ben Simmerman, Glenwood City’s Angela Hierlmeier and Colfax’ Carrie Christensen.

Selection to the Honors Band or Choir is based on an application process that measures student musical achievements through participation and involvement in a wealth of musical activities that include solo and ensemble festivals and previous honors groups. The application is combined with their music director’s recommendation to complete the process. The following area students were selected to the Dunn-St. Croix Honors Band and Choir.

Glenwood City

Choir: Savannah Kessler, Soprano II; Biridiana Leandro-Mendez, Soprano II; Maggie Wallin, Alto I; Kaylie Scalze, Alto I; Olivia Scalze, Alto I; Kelsey Magsam, Alto II; Rachel Klatt, Alto II; Hanna Strehlo, Alto II; Nick Schone, Tenor; Jacob Nadeau, Tenor; Owen Anderson, Tenor; Dillon Hierlmeier, Tenor; Tanner Davis, Tenor; Gavin Samp, Tenor; Hadin DeSmith, Tenor; Mitchell Fallos, Bass; Stephen Olson, Bass; Jacob Traynor, Bass and Collin Schone, Bass.

Band: Tressa Peskar, Flute II; Melina Schultz, Flute II; Gabby Peterson, Clarinet I; Taylor Drinkman, Clarinet I; Olivia Janson, Clarinet III; Michaela Nyhus, Clarinet III; Sam Nelson, Clarinet III; Cortney Lawson, Bass Clarinet; Marne Lewis, Bass Clarinet; Delaney Quinn, Bass Clarinet; Alexis Rassbach, Contra Bass Clarinet; Maya Petersen, Alto Saxophone I; Morgan Kadinger, Alto Saxophone I; Dakota Phalin, Alto Saxophone I; Will Rosenow, Alto Saxophone II; Kayla Moe, Alto Saxophone II; Andrew Bauman, Baritone Saxophone; Abby Kahler, Baritone Saxophone; Ethan Kahler, Trumpet I; Matt Bauman, Trumpet I; Owen Wagner, Trumpet II; Daimen Shaleen, Trumpet III; Emily Hill, Trumpet III; Riley Berends, Trumpet III; Ellen Lindquist, French Horn I; Nic Jensen, French Horn I; Nicole Peabody, French Horn II; Nathan Hill, Trombone I; Bradley Kessler, Trombone II; Taylor Mortel, Trombone II; Will Owen, Trombone III; Alexys Curvello, Trombone III; Jim Buttles, Tuba; and Colton Peskar, Percussion.


Choir: Lexi Schmidt, Soprano I; Haley Hanson, Soprano I; Ali Fenton, Soprano II; Nicole Bartos, Alto I; Hannah Wyss, Alto I; Anna Hagen, Alto II and Damien Waller, Tenor.

Band: Maxwell Engel, Trombone I and Amelia Jewell, Percussion.