Skip to content

Boyceville NHS inducts 13

BOYCEVILLE – Boyceville’s National Honor Society inducted a baker’s dozen at its 2014 induction ceremony last week after the new members demonstrated that they possessed the four virtues that the National Honor Society holds dearest – Character, Scholarship, Leadership, and Service.

The Boyceville High School chapter celebrated its annual fall induction ceremony on Monday evening, November 3, 2014 as 13 new members were added to the ranks. The ceremony was held in the high school commons and was attended by members, parents, friends, and staff.

Members of Boyceville’s 2014 National Honor Society induction class included: Madison Bygd, Peyton Hellmann, Katelyn Kegen, Abby Lorenz, Lee Oemig, Luke Timper, Brandon Windsor, Haley Hanson, Alexandra Kapsner, Marki Lagerstrom, Samantha Merkel, Wyatt Swenson, and Carloyn Voelker.

Before being accepted into the local National Honor Society, each new inductee had to meet the organization’s prerequisites and pass a stringent selections process. The Boyceville chapter invites only juniors and seniors with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher to make an application for acceptance into the organization. Applicants are judged on their leadership skills and community involvement among other things. Each applicant must obtain character references from Boyceville staff members before a final determination of acceptance is made. Each applicant is judged on the four pillars of the NHS.

Steven Glocke, Boyceville High School/Middle School principal, was the ceremony’s welcome speaker. Advisor Karlene Berry then described the organization’s four virtues – Character, Scholarship, Leadership, and Service – in detail respectively. Each new members was then introduced before the entire group was officially inducted.

The local society’s ranks, which increased to 23 with the addition of the new members, also includes Megan Bird, Brooklyn Blaser, Hannah Jerrie, Allison Kenefick, Lauren Klassen, Logan McAbee-Thomas, Kayla Nelson, Alexa Peterson, McKenzie Schultz, and Nolan Windsor.