Skip to content

Catelynn Clark selected as Menomonie Optimist Club Youth of the Month

The Menomonie Optimist Club provides Boyceville High School with the opportunity to recognize the achievements and efforts of an outstanding senior student.  The selected student is then recognized as the Youth of the Month.

Catelynn Clark was selected to represent Boyceville High School as Youth of the Month for April.

The program statement from the Menomonie Optimist Club describes the qualities and attributes that made Catelynn a great choice.

“The purpose of the Optimist Club is to develop optimism as a philosophy of life: to promote an active interest in good government and civic affairs, to aid and encourage the development of youth, in the belief that the giving of one’s self in service to others will advance the well-being of man, his community, and the world.”

To recognize her accomplishments there was an Awards Banquet held in Menomonie on April 16th.  The banquet was attended by Catelynn’s parents, David and Becky Clark of Boyceville.  In addition, Boyceville High School Guidance Counselor, Karlene Berry had the opportunity to introduce Catelynn and talk about her achievements, both in school and our community.  She has been a valuable leader and a positive role model for her peers.  With her determination and academic focus, Catelynn has earned the title of Valedictorian for the Class of 2014.  Catelynn has dedicated countless hours to the FFA organization and now serves as the FFA President this year.  She has been a Student Council Member for the past three years and currently serves as the Treasurer for her class.  In addition to all of Catelynn’s commitments she plays an integral part in helping out on her family’s dairy farm.  Her academic focus, volunteer hours and commitment to leadership has made Catelynn a wonderful choice for the Optimist Award.  Catelynn plans on attending UW-River Falls to earn a degree in Teaching English to Speakers of other Languages (TESOL). Congratulations to Catelynn on being selected as an outstanding senior!