Skip to content

TCE teachers receive Fund for Teachers Grant

By Kelsie Hoitomt

BOYCEVILLE – Fund for Teachers recently selected four local teachers from Tiffany Creek Elementary in Boyceville, Wisconsin to receive a fellowship grant ($9,225).  Debra Bell, Amy Carlson-Phillips, Angela Hellmann, and Janine Klaustermeier were awarded this grant because Tiffany Creek Elementary was awarded the 2013 “School of Recognition” Award through the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

 According to the press release, the four teachers are currently preparing to embark on an educational journey to Boston/Plymouth, Massachusetts where they will gather valuable resources and gain knowledge that will enhance their educational unit on the “humble beginning” of our country for second graders at TCE.

Fund for Teachers enriches the personal and professional growth of teachers by recognizing and supporting them as they identify and pursue opportunities around the world that impact their students and school communities.

Through an online application, PreK-12 teachers representing 350 schools in 200 districts proposed their ideas for relevant professional development. Throughout March, hundreds of volunteers from corporate, philanthropic, academic and civic sectors convened to review the proposals and select the winners.

The team’s focus will be to enrich the teaching of Early American History for second grade by spending eight days in the Boston/Plymouth area. On their journey, the four teachers will document the experience, learn from experts, be active in workshops and collect valuable artifacts.

Once information is collected, a second grade timeline project that brings the past to present while encompassing the Wisconsin Social Studies Standards will be created.

The team will document using videos, photographs, journals and blogs through the school website and social media to keep the community informed and interested.

The teachers will embark on this fellowship starting on July 28, 2013.