Skip to content

Bulldog grapplers have strong performance at SCF Classic

ST. CROIX FALLS — The Boyceville wrestling team was in St. Croix Falls last Saturday for the wrestling classic that featured ten schools.

As a team, the Bulldogs had 14 wrestlers with a winning record on the day out of a total of 20 individuals.

Dominic Olson had a perfect record of 5-0 with a 12-5 decision over Bennett Paulson of Amery, a decision of 6-2 over Zach Radkey-Pechacek of River Falls and a pin against Andrew Widiker of Cameron and a pin against Evan Ryan of Luck/Fredric/Grantsburg, who was the Northern Badger champion.

Because of his accomplishment, Olson was named Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament. He joins Josh Cormican and Allan Lain who also hold this title in the SCF tournament.

Also 5-0 on the day were Jordan Morse, Isaac Wold and Josh Cormican.

Cormican won his fourth title in a row after winning by a major decision of 14-0 against Ryan Tierney of RF, a pin in 11 seconds against Hunter Hansen of SCF, a decision of 11-1 against Broden Schock of Amery, a pin against Brad Duhr of Lakeland and a 7-2 decision over Mitchel Wozniak of Chetek/Prairie Farm.

Morse won in over time against Daniel Wilke of Spencer 15-13, he pinned Gregg Matheson of RF, pinned Casey Slowiak of RF, he pinned Marcus Qualle of Unity in 19 seconds and received a forfeit.

Wold received a bye, won by a decision of 8-6 against John Kruger of RF, he pinned John Bondgien of RF, he pinned Jake Benson of C/PF and also pinned Drako Gagnon of C/PF.

Austin Wolfe was 4-1 after receiving a forfeit, an injury default over Wyatt Wade of Cameron and he pinned Tristen Chamberlin of SCF.

Sawyer Swenson was 4-1 after receiving a bye and a forfeit, he tech falled fellow teammate Tyler Stroo and pinned Anthony Wallace of C/PF in 24 seconds.

Jon Harnisch was 4-1 after receiving a bye, he pinned Jerimiah Churchwar of C/PF, Jacob Tepp of RF and he won by a 6-4 decision over Rudy Nieman.

Wyatt Hanson was 4-1 after pinning Wyatt Qualls of RF and James Gonzalez of Lakeland and he won by a decision over Tim Lund of C/PF and Dan Horn of SCF.

Bryor Hellmann was 4-1 after pinning Brady Zais of Spencer and then decisions of 11-4 against Colton Sorenson of Unity and 6-2 over Erik Dartsch of RF and he received a forfeit.

Will Kraft was 4-1 after pinning Brandon Kliszcz of RF, Leon Stowe of Lakeland and Brad Eley of Unity and he received a bye.

Finishing with records of 3-2 were Jake Lake, Alex Lovett, James Lindo and Brock Swenson. Those with losing records on the day were Tyler Stroo, Dylan Lamm, Noah Wyss, Logan Thomas-Macabee, Zach Sutliff and Jake Erickson.