Skip to content

Injuries still hindering girl’s team in Boyceville; boys 4th in Arcadia

By Kelsie Hoitomt

The Boyceville cross country teams ran at the Amery High School on Tuesday, October 2 and then they took to the wind and cold temperatures in Arcadia on Saturday.

Amery Invite

The varsity girls’ team finally competed with their top five runners after injuries have allowed them to only qualify individually over the past several weeks.

They finished last in 14th place with Michaella Kegen leading them in 70th place out of 114 participants with a 19:21.37.

Following were Alex Wold in 75th (19:41.85), Katie Kegen in 81st (20:14.75), Katelyn Merten in 108th (24:17.92) and Alex Kapsner in 114th (33:58.63).

The varsity boys’ team ran well as they finished in ninth place out of 18 teams with junior Tanner Johnson-Hetchler leading in 21st with a 18:32.82.

Under a minute away was Ian Kane in 35th with a 19:15.68 followed by Nick Adams in 39th (19:21.44), Mitch Pustol in 82nd (20:58.76), Tristan Debell in 85th (21:07.36) and Tyler Wolfe in 100th (22:01.07).

The middle school team competed as well with the boys placing 12th out of 13 and the girls placed 11th out of 11 teams.

The girls’ team was led by Marissa Dormanen in 38th out of 147 participants with a time of 12:01.14.

Following were Sarah Kapsner in 65th (13:18.50), Erica Sempf in 74th (13:28.86), Amber Retzloff in 129th (15:33.53) and Mariah Drury in 132nd (15:44.05).

The boys’ team was led by eighth grader Maxwell Engel who finished in 12th place with a 10:23.00, not far behind first place runner Ian Bednarek of Rice Lake who had a time of 9:51.56.

Next were Kenny Mayer in 64th (11:53.19), Kiel Anderson in 79th (12:28.15), Sean Best in 128th (14:57.33) and Emmett Kapsner in 135th (15:45.92).

Arcadia Race

The varsity boys’ team ran a competitive race in Arcadia Saturday as they finished fourth out of 16 possible teams on a course that has seven hills.

The girls’ team did not compete as a whole as injured runners are being rested before Conference on Thursday.

Finishing in the top 30 for the Bulldogs were juniors Tanner Johnson-Hetchler in 22nd (18:08.6) and Ian Kane in 30th (18:34.4).

They were followed by senior Nick Adams in 40th (18:47.4), Mitch Pustol in 68th (19:32.0), Tristan Debell in 92nd (20:17.6), James Lindo in 93rd (20:18.5) and fellow senior Tyler Wolfe in 115th (20:56.7).

There were 143 individual runners and first place went to junior Sasha Maro of Mondovi with a 16:43.3.

The Bulldogs will be in Mondovi on Thursday, October 11 for the Dunn-St. Croix Conference meet.