Skip to content

Local governments receive almost $130 million in quarterly transportation aid

MADISON—Wisconsin communities received $129,698,460 in transportation funding payments, the last quarterly payments for 2020.

For the calendar year, local governments received more than $505 million in general transportation aids (GTA) to support transportation related projects, which is an ten percent increase over the last calendar year.

“Fixing our roads and making sure folks can get from A to B or get products to market starts with ensuring our counties, towns, and municipalities have the resources they need to serve our communities and maintain our local roads,” Governor Tony Evers said. “I’m proud we made funding for local roads a priority in our last budget, so Wisconsinites can stay connected and get to work, school, the doctor, or wherever they need to go safely.”

The local assistance increase is part of more than $465 million in new funding for transportation projects included in the 2019-2020 state budget, the largest dedication of new, ongoing revenue to the transportation fund in a generation. In addition to the ten percent GTA increase, the budget included $320 million in new funding for the State Highway Rehabilitation program and will provide $90 million in one-time funding for the Local Roads Improvement Program-Supplement grant program.

“Our local roads are a crucial element of the state’s transportation system,” Craig Thompson, Wisconsin Transportation Secretary designee, said. “These roads represent the first mile of a farmer’s shipment of crops, or the last mile of a family’s vacation trip. That’s why Wisconsin’s entire transportation system depends on the condition of its local infrastructure.”

Quarterly payments for cities, towns and villages are sent the first Monday in January, April, July and October.

St. Croix County received $494,064.70 with area communities receiving the following: Cady Township, $30,176.01; Cylon, $24,512.67; Emerald $30,517.65; Forest, $30,386.25; Glenwood, $30.438.81; Springfield, $22,462.83; Village of Wilson, $2,890.80; Woodville, $30,970.14; and Glenwood City, $16,151.50.

In Dunn County, the following local communities received funds including $396,322.48 to Dunn County; Town of Hay River, $28,165.59; Menomonie, $44,058.88; New Haven, $30,215.43; Sherman $25,375.34; Stanton, $23,553.48; Tiffany, $23,875.38; Village of Boyceville, $14,454.57; Knapp, $4,099.68; Ridgeland, $2,804.62; Wheeler, $2,717.61 and the City of Menomonie, $15,456.89.

Leave a Comment