Skip to content

Three candidates will be on the ballot for the Jan. 16 special election in Senate District 10

By LeAnn R. Ralph

GLENWOOD CITY —  Three candidates will be on the ballot for the January 16 special election for state Senate District 10.

Patty Schachtner will be the Democratic candidate, while Adam Jarchow will be the Republican candidate, and Brian Corriea is running as a Libertarian candidate.

State Senator Sheila Harsdorf, who represented District 10 from 2001 to 2017, was appointed by Governor Scott Walker in November as secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.

According to an article published in the “Wisconsin State Journal” November 10, Harsdorf is the first woman to serve as secretary of DATCP in the department’s 88-year history.

Five candidates ran in the primary election December 19 for Senate District 10 and included Shannon Zimmerman, a Republican from River Falls; Adam Jarchow, a Republican from Balsam Lake; Reuben Helge Herfindahl, a Democratic candidate from River Falls; Patty Schachtner, a Democratic candidate from Somerset; and John Rocco Calabrese, a Democratic candidate from Glenwood City.

Schachtner is the medical examiner for St. Croix County and also is a member of the Somerset school board.

Jarchow is the representative for the state’s 28th Assembly District.

Brian J. Corriea, a Libertarian candidate from Wilson, is a Navy veteran.

State Senate District 10 covers the 28th, 29th and 30th Assembly Districts.

The 28th Assembly District includes most of Polk County, southern and western portions of Burnett County, and the Town of Somerset in St. Croix County.

The 29th Assembly District covers in Dunn County the Towns of Lucas, Menomonie, Stanton, and Tiffany; the Villages of Boyceville, Downing and Knapp; and the City of Menomonie. The 29th Assembly District also includes the City of New Richmond.

The 30th Assembly District contains parts of St. Croix and Pierce County. The cities of Hudson and River Falls are included in the district, as well as the Towns of Troy, St. Joseph, Richmond, Kinnickinnic, Warren and the villages of North Hudson and Roberts.

The results of the December 19 primary election are as follows:

• Jarchow (Republican): 4,020 (1,688 in Polk County; 373 in Burnett County; 208 in Dunn County; 1,635 in St. Croix County; 116 in Pierce County).

• Schachtner (Democratic): 3,884 (901 in Polk County; 164 in Burnett County; 330 in Dunn County; 2,100 in St. Croix County; 389 in Pierce County).

• Zimmerman (Republican): 3,161 (491 in Polk County; 157 in Burnett County; 309 in Dunn County; 1,884 in St. Croix County; 320 in Pierce County).

• Calabrese (Democratic): 1,364 (311 in Polk County; 65 in Burnett County; 506 in Dunn County; 370 in St. Croix County; 112 in Pierce County).

• Herfindahl (Democratic): 260 (66 in Polk County; 13 in Burnett County; 31 in Dunn County; 108 in St. Croix County; 42 in Pierce County).

The League of Women Voters — Greater Chippewa Valley will hold a candidate forum on Tuesday, January 9, beginning at 6:30 p.m. at the Dunn County Judicial Center, 615 Stokke Parkway, Menomonie, to allow voters a chance to ask the three candidates questions prior to the January 16 special election.