Skip to content

Elk Mound golfers ready for second year of competition

ELK MOUND — Five letter winners will return to the Elk Mound golf team which begins their second year of competing on the local golf circuit. The Mounders finished fifth out of the six teams in the Dunn-St. Croix Conference in their inaugural year and are eligible this year for WIAA post season play after the regular season ends later this spring.

Back for second year coach Annie Kongshaug are senior Corey Hagberg, junior Tim Lambele and sophomores  Mark Dickinson, Jameson Rubenzer and Jonah LaRock. Hagberg had the lowest average score of 54 per nine holes for the group a year ago. Others trying to push for a starting spot are seniors Gabe LaRock, Korbyn Kniper, Nick Hollister and Morgan Fuller, junior Colin Svee, sophomore Jacob Hoag and freshmen Nathaniel Schreiber, Emily Bartig, Emily Winchester and Lexi Schindler. (Girls are allowed to compete on the boys’ team as long as the school does not have a girls’ team).

“Our goal is to improve now that we are in our second year as a team,” Kongshaug said. “We are looking for contributions from all five of our returning letter winners and we are excited for the opportunity to extend our season in tournament play.”