Skip to content

Mounder runners struggle in first meet

BOYCEVILLE — Although the Elk Mound boys had a pair of top 20 runners at the Boyceville Alumni Invitational Aug 28, the rest of the team was further behind, resulting in a sixth place finish in a field of 11 for the team. The girls had just one top 20 runner and ended up tenth of ten teams.

Caleb Kruger was the first Mounder boy to cross the finish line, coming in sixth at 18:46 and teammate Lucas Winter was 14th at 19:56. Back in the pack was Hayden Kohls in 44th at 22:10 followed by Ryan Mohr in 49th at 22:28 and Nate Kruger in 53rd at 22:45. Grant Kjellberg was the sixth Elk Mound runner to finish at 22:57 for 62nd place while Jared Strand was close behind in 65th place in 23:01. Other Mounder runners were Jonas Kohls (76th, 23:42), Nate Schreiber (81st, 24:11), Erik Strand (90th, 25:01), Jake Johnson (94th, 25:16), Nate Lind (95th, 25:17), William Stone (100th, 26:36), Bowdrie Noller (102nd, 26:44), Tyler Svihovec (110th, 28:20) and Aaron Maves (112th, 29:51). There were 119 competitors in the race which was won by Jordan Bringgold of St. Croix Central in 17:28 while Colfax won the team title.

Leading the Elk Mound girls was Elizabeth Fasbender in 14th place at 23:43 and the next one for the team to cross the line was Hannah Cedarblade in 52nd at 26:52. Nevada LaPoint was close behind in 58th at 27:32 and running in a pack were Kaitlyn Baier (64th, 28:30), Elayna Gutsch 66th, 28:33) and O’Ryhann Hay (67th, 29:24). Hannah Carlson followed (71st, 30:14) along with Corrine Zimmer (73rd, 30:18) and Mattea Linberg (83rd, 33:14). Emily Jaeger of Fall Creek was the individual winner of 88 runners in 21:42 as her team also won the team title.

Elk Mound’s Brook Plaszcz was fifth in the middle school girls division with twin sister Alana sixth. Seth Hazen finished 11th to pace the middle school boys.

In the alumni race, Mounder coach Jeremiah Fredrickson was fourth in the men’s division and assistant coach Sarah Hoover was third in the women’s division.