Skip to content

Colfax fifth graders graduate from DARE program

COLFAX — 63 fifth grade students from Colfax Elementary School spent several weeks this spring  with officer Rod Dicus of the Dunn County Sheriff’s Department learning about making good choices in their lives when it comes to alcohol, drugs and bullying.


The program the students went through is called Drug and Alcohol Resistance Education (DARE) and a ceremony was held May 30 in the elementary gym with certificates being handed out to each student who completed the program. All students needed to write an essay explaining how they will make good choices in their lives and how they will resist using alcohol and drugs. Family and community members were invited to hear several students read their essay during the program. Those who were chosen to read were: Addisyn Olson, Mollie Pederstuen, Noah Heidorn, Lance Kuesel, Logan Carstens, Adeline Paulson and Quinn Russell.

Students from Mrs. Hovland’s class who completed the program are: Brynn Bergeson, Bailey Bradford, Garrett Decker, Jada Golden, Marissa Harmon, Noah Heidorn, Zackary Hill, Seth Korevaar, Kyle Kraft, Lance Kuesel, Aliyah Loofboro, Elijah Mroch, Devan Olson, William Ottinger, Jasmine Paulus, Burgandy Quimby, Hunter Rebak, Brooklyn Stehling, Derek Wilsey.

Mrs. Yingst’s class includes: Asher Black, Shane Cooper, Ciera Dekarske, Anna Geissler, Drew Gibson, Aidin Goulet, Kayelyn Hagen, Tanner Hoffman, Liza Johnson, Maxwell Knudson, Quin Lemke, Lexi Molde, Jaclyn Olson, Rylee Parker, Adeline Paulson, Kendra Pickett, Katie Riley, Quinn Russell, Cody Sault, Austin Schindler, Gregory Schulze, Emilie Tuschl.

Mrs. Kiekhafer’s students are: Chase Aspengren, Logan Carstens, Danny Cuaquehua, Chanler Dicks, Penelapea Ekblad, Caden Erickson, Scout Flodquist, Carly Gibson, Julio Hernandez, Sydney Herrick, Abigail Irwin, Jaeger Knutson, Branson Longdo, Addisyn Olson, Durran Pederstuen, Zoey Pitts, Mitchell Reisdorf, Walker Retz, Meria Smit, Jordyn Truber, Hannah Winch.