Skip to content

Glenwood City advances four to State DECA

MENOMONIE — Holmen High School students took six first places to lead all schools in the 42nd  annual DECA District One Career Development Conference held Saturday, January 11 at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.

A total of 49 winners and runners-up advanced to the state Career Development Conference to be held March 18-20 in Lake Geneva.

Holmen also had the most state qualifiers with 10 followed by West Salem with seven, Eau Claire Memorial and Superior with five each and Glenwood City, the smallest school in the comeptition, with four.

“I was very proud of how our students performed,” said Carrie Hentz, Glenwood City’s DECA advisor. “We took just 13 to the competition and will be sending four to state.”

About 500 students, representing 16 schools, competed as individuals and in team events. The other schools were Ashland, Chippewa Falls, Eau Claire North, Hudson, La Crosse Central, La Crosse Logan, Menomonie, Northwestern, Sparta, St. Croix Falls and Tomah.

Glenwood City’s Participants

Glenwood City sent 15 to the District Career Development Competition. GCHS participants (including placement) were: Andrew Bauman earned 1st place in Principles of Finance, Tia Carlson earned 2nd place in Principles of Finance, Nicholas Schone earned 2nd place in Hotel and Lodging Management, Jacob Hennessy earned 2nd place in Automotive Services, and Gabby Porter earned two role play medals in Restaurant and Food Service Mangement, Josie DeMar, Taylor Drinkman, Julie McNamara, Becca Moll, Fuechee Vang, Will Rosenow, Collin Oeltjen, Nic Jensen, Josiah McClelland, and Colton Peskar also competed in business related events at Districts.

Since 1946 DECA has provided co-curricular programs for students around the world interested in marketing, finance, hospitality and management careers.

The competition was hosted by the UW-Stout marketing and business education program and its affiliated Marketing and Business Education Association. Industry professionals from the region volunteered as event judges.

DECA District One Career Development Conference Results (Glenwood City’s are in bold):

Individual events

Accounting applications: 1. Lynsey Malin, Holmen; 2. Brandee Dittbrender, Northwestern

Apparel and accessories marketing: 1. Beka Risch, Holmen; 2. (tie) Janay Gunderman, Chippewa Falls, Austin Yadon, Superior

Automotive services marketing: 1. Ashley Taylor, Holmen; 2. Jake Hennessy, Glenwood City

Business finance: 1. Jordan Mason, Holmen; 2. Austin George, Holmen

Business services marketing: 1. Jeb Pflug, Northwestern; 2. Jessie Booth, Holmen

Food marketing: 1. Brennan Bahr, West Salem; 2. Andrew Saxton, La Crosse Central

Hotel and lodging management: 1. Rawia Mamoun, Superior; 2. Nick Schone, Glenwood City

Human resource management: 1. Cole Werner, Menomonie; 2. Jenny Russell, Eau Claire Memorial

Marketing management: 1. Kayla Piltz, Eau Claire Memorial; 2. Kim Yang, Eau Claire North

Quick serve restaurant management: 1. Erin Faella, West Salem; 2. Kendal Miller, La Crosse Logan

Restaurant and food service management: 1. Skyler Poulios, Hudson; 2. Elizabeth Gogolin, Holmen

Retail merchandising: 1. Allison Rigotti, West Salem; 2. Emily Reise, Tomah

Sports and entertainment marketing: 1. Jonah Zabel, Eau Claire Memorial; 2. Chiafukam O., Eau Claire Memorial

Principles of business management and administration: 1. Ben Sharp, West Salem; 2. Ashley Kromke, Holmen

Principles of finance: 1. Andrew Bauman, Glenwood City; 2. Tia Carlson, Glenwood City

Principles of hospitality and tourism: 1. Jinal Patel, West Salem; 2. Abby Maliszewski, West Salem

Principles of marketing: 1. Ethan Lo, Hudson; 2. Kate Sikyta, West Salem

Team events

Business law and ethics: 1. La Crosse Central (Erik Kemozek, Omar Jandal); 2. Chippewa Falls (MacKenzie Caron, Joseph Paquette).

Buying and merchandising: 1. Holmen (Sam Heiden, Cullin Trivett); 2. La Crosse Central (Sam Anglehart, Gracie Przywojski)

Financial services: 1. Holmen (MacKenzie Bruce, Solange Bayerl); 2. Eau Claire Memorial (Martin Bearson, Sean Geary)

Hospitality services: 1. Superior (Cody Anderson, Chris Carey); 2. Northwestern (Mitch Graskey, Mason Lombard)

Marketing communications: 1. Eau Claire North (Kevin Boeselager, Adam Fitzpatrick); 2. Superior (Daniel Mikel, Paxton Paine)

Sports and entertainment: 1. Superior (Leanna Carey, Giselle Sziron); 2. La Crosse Central (Robert Bagniewski, Adam Miller)

Travel and tourism: 1. Sparta (Madi Blaha, Jackie Page); 2. Menomonie (Colleen Harmer, Henry Zold)