Skip to content

Elk Mound school board has 4 candidates for 3 seats, village board has 3 for 3

By LeAnn R. Ralph

ELK MOUND — The Elk Mound Board of Education will have four candidates for three positions, and the Elk Mound Village Board will have three candidates for three positions in the April election.

 The deadline for filing nomination papers for the Elk Mound school board was extended by one day, to 5 p.m. on January 8, because the school district office was closed for one day due to the brutally cold weather.

Candidates for the three positions on the Board of Education will be Tim Sivertson, incumbent school board president, and Mark Cedarblade, Kelly Holzer and Patrick Rhude.

Incumbents Jim Holte and Bill Moore, both with more than 15 years of experience on the Elk Mound school board, filed non-candidacy papers by the December 27 deadline.

In February and March, the Colfax Messenger will be running candidate profiles for the four Elk Mound school board candidates.

Village board

Three candidates filed nomination papers for the Elk Mound Village Board by the deadline on January 7.

The three candidates for the three positions will be incumbents Travis Wenzel and Tony Schrantz, along with Chad Mousel, who also has filed nomination papers.

Incumbent village trustee Deborah Creaser-Kipp filed non-candidacy papers by the deadline in December.