Skip to content

DC and EM board members not running in April election

By LeAnn R. Ralph

COLFAX —  Three Dunn County Board members, two members of the Elk Mound Board of Education, and one Elk Mound Village Board trustee have filed non-candidacy papers and will not be running in the April 1 election.

As of the deadline on December 27, the following county board supervisors had filed non-candidacy papers with the county clerk’s office: Donald Krause of New Auburn (District 1); Alec Kirby of Menomonie (District 13); and Don Francis of Menomonie (District 19).

Two Elk Mound Board of Education members, both with more than 15 years of experience on the school board, filed non-candidacy papers as well.

Bill Moore and Jim Holte will not be seeking re-election April 1.

Tim Sivertson, president of the Elk Mound Board of Education, will be running in the election.

“Jim and Bill have both been on the board for over 15 years. They have been excellent board members who understand what it takes to be part of a supportive and trusting board while weighing their decisions based on what is best for our students,” wrote Dr. Ron Walsh in an e-mail dated December 29.

Walsh added that he wanted Moore and Holte to know that their dedicated service has been greatly appreciated, and that they will both be missed.

As for the Elk Mound Village Board, Deborah Creaser-Kipp will not be running for election April 1.

Elk Mound Village Board Trustees Tony Schrantz and Travis Wenzel are up for election in April, too, but are planning to run for re-election and did not file non-candidacy papers with the village clerk.

As for the Colfax Village Board, the positions held by Trustees Mark Halpin, Mike Buchner and Rick Johnson will be up for election in April.

Jackie Ponto, village administrator-clerk-treasurer, reported that none of the three trustees had filed non-candidacy papers by the deadline and are expected to be on the ballot April 1.

The deadline to file nomination papers was 5 p.m. on January 7.