Skip to content

Colfax Village Board appoints plan commission

By LeAnn R. Ralph

COLFAX — The Colfax Village Board approved appointments to the Colfax Planning and Development Commission at the board’s reorganizational meeting April 16.

In addition to Scott Gunnufson (village president) and Beverly Schauer (village trustee), the seven-member planning and development commission includes Gary Stene, Dave Hovre, Nancy Hainstock, Jason Johnson and Mike Buchner.

Stene, who served his last meeting as village president April 8, declined to run for election this spring.

The planning and development commission’s first order of business was on April 22 for a public hearing and recommendation to the village board regarding an annexation request from Don and Marcia Henderson.

The annexation request involved property that would be the site of a proposed expansion by Timber Technologies.

During the reorganizational meeting, the Colfax Village Board also approved a variety of committee assignments.

The audit and finance committee, which will meet quarterly, is a committee of the whole village board with Gunnufson as chair.

The personnel committee is a committee of the whole board with Village Trustee Susan Olson as chair.

The parks committee includes Schauer as chair and Village Trustees Rick Johnson and Annie Schieber.

The public property committee will have Schieber as chair, along with Village Trustees Mark Halpin and Schauer.

The public safety committee includes Halpin as chair and Susan Olson.

The public works committee includes Johnson and Gunnufson.

The streets committee includes Johnson as chair, along with Susan Olson, Schauer and Gunnufson.

In addition, Halpin was appointed as the library board liaison; Johnson was appointed as village forester; Schieber was appointed weed commissioner.

Other committees that have not yet been finalized include the Zoning Board of Appeals; the Community Development Block Grant Committee; and the Village Celebration Committee.