Skip to content

Colfax holds annual FFA banquet April 10

COLFAX — Members of the Colfax High School FFA presented awards to members, staff and community during their yearly banquet held April 10 in the high school cafeteria. FFA advisor and agriculture teacher Tom Millar presided over his 30th – and final– banquet as he has announced his official retirement to the district.

Greenhand members who have completed one year of membership include: Colton Breezee, Joel Breezee, Ben Christianson, Anthony Draaijer, JoHann Friberg, Rebecca Gunnufson, Kristi Hagen, Jack Halvorson, Kayla Hoffman, Dakota Homann, Brett Johnson, Hunter Lieffort, Nick Loechler, Dillon Lloyd, Billy Lyrek, Peter Lyrek, William Michaels, Garrett Miller, Rebecca Nelson, Sarah Scharlau, Scot Schmock, Abbagail Schotter, Ben Sikora, Jared Taylor, Ross Taylor, Jezzicka Tweed, Joe Wahl. Nelson received the Star Greenhand Award.

Members who have completed at least two years received the Chapter FFA Degree which included Haley Flug, Rachel Sykora and Riley Rice.

Tyler Knutson, Sawyer Suvada, Dakota Homann and Billy Lyrek were recognized for attending and competing at the World Dairy Expo in Madison last fall. Draaijer, Heidi Lieffort and Miller were the first place winners in the Tri-County Land Judging Contest which took place near Wheeler earlier in the year, and Knutson, Sykora, Flug, Abby Stone, Kris Krall and Kristi Hagen received plaques for attending the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis. Tweed competed in the FFA Creed Speaking Contest for the club and Stone and Heidi Lieffort competed in the District Discussion Meet Contest. Attending the Mid Year Leadership Conference in Stevens Point were Lexi Albricht and Bethany Ferry while Heidi Lieffort and Stone attended the FFA Farm Forum in Wisconsin Rapids.

Eight members attended the Section 2 Leadership Workshop in New Richmond including Hoffman, Gunnufson, Megan Adams, Nelson, Freeberg, Sykora, Flug and Joel Breezee. Earning bowling awards during FFA Week activities were Flug for Top Female Score and Johnson for Top Male Score.

Fruit sales are the major fundraiser for the club and the top four sales people were recognized including first place Ferry, second place Sykora, third place Albricht, and fourth place Nelson.

Star Chapter FFA Degrees went to Heidi Lieffort for Agriscience while Krall was the Star Chapter Farmer. The DeKalb Leadership Award was presented to senior Ferry and the Honorary Chapter Award for their support of the FFA went to the local reporter for The Messenger, Marlys Kruger, and Annie Schieber, owner of A Little Slice of Italy received the FFA Alumni Award for an individual, group or business that supports the alumni.

Presented scholarships from FFA Alumni members Joel Hilson and Chris Fogarty to further their education were Ferry and Trevor Secraw. After final comments were made by Millar, he was presented with gifts from FFA members and the alumni.

“I have had some great years here and I know whoever they hire will also enjoy it here,” Millar said. “Remember, the new teacher/advisor will have new ideas and will want to do some things differently. I hope everyone will support him or her and be open to whatever changes they would like to make.”

After parents of FFA officers were recognized, the evening concluded with closing ceremonies presented by the officers.