Skip to content

BVHS track returns several letter winners and state qualifiers

By Kelsie Hoitomt

BOYCEVILLE — The Boyce-ville boys and girls track and field teams are ready for the 2013 season with a handful of state qualifiers and over 20 letter winners returning.

The girls’ team lost their school record breaking and state qualifying teammate, Miranda Retz to graduation. However, looking to fill those shoes are an abundance of newcomers with Hope Chovan, Abby Lorenz, Ireland McAbee-Thomas, Abbey Bird, Michaela Kegen, Anna Hagen, Samantha Merkel, Caroline Voelker, Shannon Best, Lauren Klassen, Teala Mayer, Melissa Leach and Savanah Minor out for the team.

Gone to graduation for the boys’ team are Brandon Tetzloff, Brandon Behling, Logan Berglund, Jake Dotseth and Mason Pregler.

However returning with a high skill level and plenty of experience are seniors and state qualifiers Zach Klassen, Dominic Olson, Will Kraft, Isaac Boyd as well as junior Isaac Wold.

There are also several newcomers to the boys’ team with Josh Cormican, Devonta Anderson, Andrew Marshall, Buddy Hanestad, Ian Fontaine, Ignacia Iglesias, Micah Minor, Alec Shaffer, Jon Harnisch, Robert Bodsberg, Tanner Johnson-Hetchler and James Lindo participating in events.

Coach Joan Klassen shared that their strength will definitely be the numbers for the girls’ team and the experience in the boys’ team.

Klassen and fellow coach Corey Day, who combined have been coaching track for over 20 years, shared that their goals this season are to find complimentary events for each athlete, place higher at conference than last season and advance as many kids to state as possible.

Last year the boys placed sixth and the girls were eighth at the conference meet and the boys were fourth and the girls fifth at the regional meet.

The Bulldogs kicked off their season on March 15 and their next meet is scheduled for April 4 at the St. Croix Central High School at 4:00 p.m.

Varsity Girls’ Roster

Seniors: Katelyn Merten, Alex Wold

Juniors: Danielle Nelson, April Lake, Katarina Fuerstenberg, Michaella Kegen

Sophomores: Abbey Bird, Lauren Klassen, Brittany Tetzlaff

Freshmen: Carolyn Voelker, Samantha Merkel, Ireland McAbee-Thomas, Teala Mayer, Abby Lorenz, Melissa Leach, Destiny Klinger, Hope Chovan, Shannon Best, Anna Hagen

Varsity Boys’ Roster

Seniors: Nicholas Adam, Isaac Boyd, Josh Cormican, Zach Klassen, Will Kraft, Patrick O’Connell, Dominic Olson, Tyler Wolfe

Juniors: Jon Harnisch, Isaac Wold, James Lindo, Ian Kane, Tanner Johnson-Hetchler, Ignacio Iglesias, Logan Horstman, Bryor Hellmann

Sophomores: Robert Bodsberg, Nolan Windsor, Mitchell Pustol, Jake McIntyre, Logan McAbee-Thomas, Dylan Lamm, Caleb Arndt, Devonta Anderson

Freshmen: Alec Schaffer, Micah Minor, Andrew Marshall, Buddy Hanestad, Ian Fontaine