Skip to content

Bradford resigns from Colfax Village Board

By LeAnn R. Ralph

COLFAX — The Colfax Village Board has accepted the resignation of Village Trustee Tina Bradford.

Bradford was appointed to serve as a trustee at the May 29 meeting, and the Colfax Village Board accepted her resignation at the September 10 meeting.

According to Bradford’s letter of resignation, “It has been a great pleasure serving and working with all of you. I hope to be able to come back and serve on the Board again after I finish my schooling. I do again apologize for serving such a short time and having to leave.”
At the time Bradford was appointed to the Colfax Village Board, one trustee position had been open since last year following the resignation of Village Trustee Mike Laska.

A number of write-in candidates reportedly received votes for village trustee during the April election, although the Colfax Village Board never received a report on the write-in candidates in the village board packet and did not discuss approaching any of the candidates to see if they would be interested in serving.

The Colfax Messenger checked with the village clerk’s office several times after the April election but was told no information was available on write-in candidates or vote totals.

Anyone who might be interested in serving on the Colfax Village Board is encouraged to contact any of the village board members or Jackie Ponto, village administrator clerk-treasurer.

Six people currently serve on the Colfax Village Board: Gary Stene (village president); Trustees Mark Halpin, Richard Johnson, Beverly Schauer, Susan Olson, and Chris Olson.