Local municipalities hold caucuses for spring election nominees

By Cara L. Dempski

Several area communities have already held caucuses to nominate candidates for the upcoming April elections. Listed below are the caucus results and nominees for several municipalities in Dunn and St. Croix Counties.

Town of Emerald

Emerald residents will be choosing a new clerk and treasurer in April after current clerk and treasurer, Barb and Don Prinsen, decided to step away from their positions. Renee Rauschnot was nominated for the position of clerk at the January 11 caucus, but declined the nomination. Barb Prinsen noted that anyone can run as a write-in candidate for clerk as long as they have completed an “expense exception” with her.

Cheryl Slind was nominated to take over as the town treasurer.

Incumbent Henry Hurtgen was nominated for town chairman, and Francis Klatt and Tom Wink – who are also incumbents – were nominated to remain as town supervisors.

Town of Forest

A pair of new candidates were nominated for two positions in the Town of Forest. A caucus for candidates for the April election was held January 12.

Jaime Junker is the incumbent town chairman, and was nominated for the position again. Roger Swanepoel was also nominated as Junker’s challenger.

Two incumbents are running as town supervisors: Craig Paulson and Laverne Hoitomt. Bruce Fouks was nominated for a position as a town supervisor as well.

Nikki Sunday is the incumbent town treasurer and Anne Johnston is the incumbent for town clerk. Both are running unopposed.

Town of Glenwood

Four incumbents and a handful of new faces were nominated for positions in the Town of Glenwood in preparation for the upcoming election.

The Town held a caucus to nominate candidates for the April election on January 10. 

Joe Draxler was nominated to challenge incumbent Mark Maes for the position of town chairman. Incumbent supervisors Barry Peterson and Rick Obermueller were nominated for the positions they currently hold.

Current clerk Mike Myers is stepping down from his position, and Joyce Keenlyn and Heidi Wagner were nominated to fill his position. Audrey Maes is the incumbent town treasurer, and Julie DuBois was nominated to challenge her.

Town of Hay River

The Town of Hay River held caucuses on January 21. All the incumbents were nominated for their respective offices and are running unopposed.

Russell W. Hitz is running again as chairman, Cindy Hoff as Supervisor I, Ned Hahn as Supervisor 2, Michelle Drury as clerk, and Susan Hitz as treasurer.

Town of New Haven

There is one incumbent running unopposed in the Town of New Haven. Clerk Diane Duerst was against nominated for her position during the town’s January 10 caucus. 

Laura Ulrich is the incumbent treasurer and is being challenged by Renee Bartz. Incumbent chairman Marv Prestrud found a challenger in Doug Enloe, and Don Cormican is running for one supervisor position as an incumbent. Jeff Carlsrud, Paul Danovsky and Tom Schoonover are running for the other supervisor’s seat.

Town of Springfield

Vicky Benson, the clerk for the Town of Springfield, said all candidates nominated at the town’s January 9 caucus are incumbents.

Current chairman Dean Fayerweather was again nominated for his position, as were town supervisors James and Brian Mahoney.

Town of Stanton

The Town of Stanton held its caucus the evening of January 16. Current chairman Rich Monn will be running unopposed in the April election. Incumbent supervisors Steve Nielsen and Melissa Schutz were again nominated for their positions. Bob Anderson was nominated as a challenger to the two incumbents.

Town of Tiffany

Three incumbents were nominated for offices in the Town of Tiffany during the town’s January 10 caucus to nominate candidates for the April election.

Incumbent chairman Chuck Siler was nominated for the office. Siler will be challenged by former Michael Blechinger, who was formerly a town supervisor. 

Mike Benson and Dave Bartz were nominated for supervisor I, and Steve Boyd and Bob Utphall accepted nominations for supervisor II. Katie Moll accepted a nomination for town clerk, where she is the incumbent, and current treasurer Laura Rasmussen was nominated to retain her place. Carla Benson was nominated to challenge Rasmussen.

Village of Knapp

Knapp held a January 24 caucus to nominate candidates for the April election. 

Incumbent village president Matt Friest is not seeking reelection. Georgene Close and Ronald Finder were nominated for the open seat.

Trustee incumbents Curt Matula, Tony Flom and Gene Lemke were nominated for seats, and Ramona Sobottka was nominated as a trustee.

Village of Wilson

The Village of Wilson nominated two incumbents and two challengers during its caucus. Dennis Cowan is the current village president, and Jennifer Thatcher was nominated to challenge him. Michelle Nelson is an incumbent trustee, and Thatcher was also nominted to challenge her.