Skip to content

Village Board heard concerns about airport hangar leases

BOYCEVILLE — The Village Board heard some concerns about their leases with people who rent hangars at the Village’s airport.

The Village Board was taking action on approving a lease application from Joel Timblin on one of the hangars at the airport and Village President Gib Krueger asked Timblin if he would like to address the board about the lease agreement.

Timblin did, and questioned them about enforcement of the terms in the lease and pointed out a couple of items that he wondered how they were enforced. One was that there is a requirement that the hangar must be used to store an airplane, but Timblin noted that the lease should state that the airplane is airworthy and is inspected and licensed.

“Hangar space is at a premium and that is because of lack of enforcement of lease requirements,” Timblin informed the board. He praised the Village’s crew for their work in keeping the airport in good condition. “Maintenance has been really good,” he told the board. He was questioned about the number of hangars at the airport and the board learned that there were 18. Timblin said, “all but four have airplanes stored and many have more than one airplane.” He noted that he had three. According to the lease, the village board must give its approval to allow a hangar to stand empty, without a plane in storage for more than 90 days.

Timblin also discussed with the Village Board about the federal funds that are available for improvement at the Boyceville Airport. He noted that Boyceville is eligible for $150,000 annually in federal funds for the airport, telling the board that Menomonie has used Boyceville’s funds for the past two years, for improvements at the Menomonie airport. But he stated, “There is about $600,000 in federal funds available to Boyceville for capital improvements at the airport. The village would be required to fund five percent as their share of those improvements,” he noted.

Timblin also told the board that with those funds they could build a terminal at the airport and the village could use the conference room as a village meeting place, but noted that those funds could not be used to build a fire station.

Village Board member Jonathan Farrell asked Timblin if he could work with the village’s committee on reviewing the lease wording and Timblin stated that he would help out. In closing, Timblin said, “I would like to see the airport as a benefit to the community.”

Fire Bill

An item on the board’s agenda was to discuss the Fred Seeger fire bill. It was learned at the board meeting that the fire department was called to a silo fire four times at the Seeger property in the village and the bill from the fire department amounted to somewhere around $6,000. Members of the board questioned if his insurance may pay the bill or at least part of it. Farrell noted that a committee had discussed the bill and the village’s policy is not to bill back to the property owners for a fire call. The board took no action other than to inquire about insurance coverage. It was noted at the meeting that the silo is currently being demolished.

Other Acivities

In other items on the board’s agenda, they listened to a report from the village department head, Don Rose who informed the board about the wastewater dumping site at Freedom Park, which was plugged and it took some time to clear that problem. He noted that the site had a lot of use during the Cucumber celebration and that a local cleaning company also dumps waste at the station at Freedom Park.

The board took some time in deciding on issuing operators license to five applicants that had applied for the license. The five applicants were: Cooper Larson, Taylor Rudiger, Michaela Kegen, Corey Zimlich and Charona Dingman.

The board seemed to have reservations about one of the applicants and when a motion was made to approve all five, it failed on a four-to-three vote. President Krueger noted that four of them did not have reservations with board members and asked to vote on each application individually. Then the board approved all five, with four of them being on a seven-to-none vote and one on a four-to-three vote.

The board also approved five local residents for the additional election inspectors for the 2016-17 cycle. The five are Sherri Hellendrung, Karen Smith, Marlene Edin, Darlene Booth and Kendra Kostman.