Skip to content

6 running for 67th Assembly District in August 9 partisan primary

By LeAnn R. Ralph

COLFAX  —  Six candidates for the 67th Assembly District will be on the ballot for the August 9 partisan primary election along with candidates for Dunn County district attorney, county clerk, county treasurer, register of deeds, U.S. senator and U.S. representative.

State law allows voters to vote in only one party’s primary.

Voters will be asked to select a political party (Republican; Democratic; Constitution; Libertarian; Wisconsin Green), and if a party is chosen, votes cast in that party will be counted, while votes cast in any other party will not be counted.

If a voter does not choose a political party on the ballot, and the voter votes in more than one party, none of the votes will be counted.


Four Republican candidates and two Democratic candidates will be on the ballot for the 67th Assembly District.

The current representative of the 67th Assembly District is Tom Larson from Colfax, who has decided not to run for re-election because of health concerns.

Larson has served three terms as a representative to the state Assembly.

Here are the Republican candidates who will be on the ballot for the 67th:

• Travis C. Hakes — Hakes, who lives in Elk Mound, is a police officer in Lake Hallie and also is the police chief in Elk Mound.

• Michael Hanke — Hanke is from Chippewa Falls and is a retired U.S. Army senior non-commissioned officer and a past member of the Chippewa Falls City Council.

• Rob Summerfield — Summerfield is from Bloomer and is a small business owner and operator.

• Tony Zammit — Zammit is from Chippewa Falls and is the executive director of the Chippewa Valley Symphony.

Here are the Democratic candidates that will be on the ballot for the 67th:

• Dennis Hunt — Hunt is from Chippewa Falls and is a former Chippewa County finance manager.

• Dennis D. Doughty — Doughty is from Chippewa Falls and is a former Chippewa Falls City Council member.

The 67th Assembly District includes the Towns of Colfax, Elk Mound, Grant, Hay River, Otter Creek, Red Cedar, Sand Creek, Sheridan, Sherman, Spring Brook, Tainter and Wilson as well as the Village of Colfax, Elk Mound, Ridgeland and Wheeler, along with part of Barron and Chippewa counties.

District attorney

The primary election for Dunn County district attorney will have two candidates on the ballot, one Republican and one Democratic.

Andrea Nodolf, the current Dunn County district attorney, is running as a Republican.

Holly Wood Webster, an assistant district attorney in Dunn County, is running on the Democratic ticket.

County clerk

Only one candidate will be on the ballot in the primary for Dunn County clerk.

Incumbent Dunn County Clerk Julie A. Wathke of Boyceville is running as a Democrat.

Wathke was appointed as county clerk in September of 2013 following the death of Marilyn Hoyt in June of that year.

County treasurer

Only one candidate is on the ballot in the primary election for Dunn County treasurer.

Megan Mittlestadt is running as a Republican.

Mittelstadt was appointed as county treasurer in January of 2014 following the resignation of Cindy Kopp.

In November of 2012, Kopp, who had served as deputy treasurer for 16 years, won the election for treasurer and had defeated Mittelstadt in the August primary.

Register of Deeds

The ballot for the August 9 primary contains only one candidate for register of deeds.

Incumbent Heather M. Kuhn is running on the Democratic ticket.

Kuhn served as the deputy register of deeds for nearly 16 years and ran for election in November of 2012.

U.S. Senator

Four candidates will be on the ballot in the primary for United States Senator.

Incumbent Ron Johnson of Oshkosh is the only candidate for senator on the Republican ticket.

Two candidates will be on the ballot on the Democratic side.

Russ Feingold, from Middleton, served in the United States Senate from 1993 to 2011 and lost to Ron Johnson in the 2010 election. Feingold previously served in the Wisconsin Senate from 1983 to 1993.

Scott Harbach, from Kenosha, owns three private detective and security consultant agencies and has investigated crimes for more than 30 years.

One candidate is on the ballot for the Libertarian party.

Phillip N. Anderson is a licensed realtor with First Weber Realty in Fitchburg and also is a general manager at Green Cab of Madison. He served as a medic in the U.S. Army from 1985 to 1988.

U.S. Representative 

Two candidates are on the primary ballot on the Democratic ticket for United States Representative in Congress.

There are no Republican candidates.

Incumbent Ron Kind of LaCrosse has served as the representative for Wisconsin’s third congressional district since 1997.

Myron Buchholz retired in June of 2015 after teaching history at Memorial High School in Eau Claire for 18 years.