Skip to content

Boyceville NHS inducts 12

BOYCEVILLE – Boyceville’s National Honor Society inducted a dozen new members at its 2015 induction ceremony last week after the new members demonstrated that they possessed the four virtues that the National Honor Society holds dearest – Character, Scholarship, Leadership, and Service.

The Boyceville High School chapter celebrated its annual fall induction ceremony on Monday evening, November 2, 2015 as 12 new members were added to the ranks. The ceremony was held in the high school commons and was attended by members, parents, friends, and staff.

Members of Boyceville’s 2015 National Honor Society induction class included: Shania Crane, Maxwell Engel, Hannah Guy, Caleb Hagen, Brooklyn Hellmann, Tori Kostman, Tyler Krueger, Morgan Kuhn, Andrew Marshall, James Palmer, Madysn Riek and Erica Sempf.

Before being accepted into the local National Honor Society, each new inductee had to meet the organization’s prerequisites and pass a stringent selections process. The Boyceville chapter invites only juniors and seniors with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher to make an application for acceptance into the organization. Applicants are judged on their leadership skills and community involvement among other things. Each applicant must obtain character references from Boyceville staff members before a final determination of acceptance is made. Each applicant is judged on the four pillars of the NHS.

Steven Glocke, Boyceville High School/Middle School principal, was the ceremony’s welcome speaker.

Members Samantha Merkel, Madison Bygd, Marki Lagerstrom and Peyton Hellmann each described one of the organization’s four virtues – Character, Scholarship, Leadership, and Service – in detail. These four virtues provide the criteria and structure for selecting students to the National Honor Society organization.

Karlene Berry, middle school/high school counselor and NHS advisor introduced each new member and gave a short statement on each inductee. She then officially inducted the entire group.

“Membership in the National Honor Society is an outstanding recognition,” Berry told the inductee, members and audience.

“It is truly an honor and a testament to both a student’s academic accomplishments and personal character,” continued Berry.

“Boyceville High School is proud of our current members and to welcome 12 new members tonight,” concluded Berry.

The local society’s ranks, which increased to 25 with the addition of the new members, also includes Madison Bygd, Peyton Hellmann, Katelyn Kegen, Abby Lorenz, Lee Oemig, Luke Timper, Brandon Windsor, Haley Hanson, Alexandra Kapsner, Marki Lagerstrom, Samantha Merkel, Wyatt Swenson, and Carloyn Voelker.