Skip to content

Primary election next Tuesday

The Wisconsin Partisan Primary Election is set for next Tuesday, August 12 at which time voters will chose candidates for the states November General Election.

At the Partisan Primary, electors can only vote on one party ballot. Voters must vote either with a ballot from the Democratic Party, Republican Party or the Constitution Party.

There is a full slate of candidates for state races including Governor, Lieutenant Governor and other state offices on the Democratic Party, while on the Republican ticket incumbent Governor Scott Walker and Lieutenant Governor Rebecca Kleefisch are unopposed on the ballot.

Seeking the Democratic nomination for Governor is Brett Hulsey and Mary Burke, while John Lehman and Mary Jo Walters are on the Constitution ballot.

For Congress in the third district incumbent Ron Kind is running unopposed on the Democratic ticket and three candidates are on the Republican ticket. They are: Tony Kurtz, Ken Van Doren and Karen L. Mueller. The third district includes Dunn County.

In the Seventh Congressional District, which includes St. Croix County, Don Ralhala is challenging incumbent Congressman Sean Duffy. On the Democratic ticket, the two people on the ballot are Mike Krsiean and Kelly Westlund.

The only contest for County Office is that of Dunn County Sheriff and here Chris Kruse is challenging incumbent Sheriff Dennis Smith.

Complete ballot notices for both St. Croix and Dunn County appear in this issue of the Tribune Press Reporter. For Dunn County the notices appear within this issue of the newspaper and for St. Croix County, an election supplement is carried along with the newspaper for St. Croix County subscribers.