Skip to content

4 open seats, 1 primary for Dunn County Board in April election

By LeAnn R. Ralph

MENOMONIE — Of the 29 positions on the Dunn County Board for the April 1 election, four positions will be open, one position will require a primary, two positions have two candidates, two positions will have no candidates, and the remaining positions will have incumbents on the ballot.

Pete Wiese of Menomonie, incumbent supervisor for District No. 14, will have two challengers in a primary election that will be held February 18.

Herbert H. White of Menomonie and Todd D. Welch, also of Menomonie, will challenge Wiese.

In District No. 1, the incumbent supervisor Donald Krause of New Auburn filed non-candidacy papers by the deadline December 27.

Two candidates filed nomination papers for the District No. 1 position: Carol M. Anderson of Sand Creek and Ralph Sam Follendorf of Colfax.

For District No. 13, incumbent supervisor Alec Kirby filed non-candidacy papers by the deadline, and Timothy Mather of Menomonie filed nomination papers for the position.

In District No. 12, incumbent supervisor Jill Noreen, Menomonie, will be challenged by Clint P. Moses of Menomonie.

In District No. 17, incumbent supervisor Kelly McCullough of Menomonie did not file nomination papers by the deadline of 5 p.m. on January 7, so the deadline was extended until 5 p.m. on January 10 for all other candidates wishing to file nomination papers.

No candidates filed papers by 5 p.m. January 10 for District No. 17.

In District No. 19, incumbent Don Francis of Menomonie filed non-candidacy papers by the deadline on December 27 but no other candidates filed nomination papers for the position.

Voters will have the opportunity during the April 1 election to write in candidates for District No. 17 and 19.

The following incumbents filed nomination papers by the deadline on January 7 and do not have any challengers for the election: David Bartlett (Boyceville) (District No. 2); Vaughn Hedlund (Boyceville) (District No. 3); Steven A. Rasmussen (Boyceville) (District No. 4); Gary Stene (Colfax) (District No. 5); Kitz (Catherine) Cleary (Colfax) (District No. 6); Gary Bjork (Colfax) (District No. 7); Charles L. Maves (Boyceville) (District No. 8); Thomas Quinn (Downing) (District No. 9); Calvin Christianson (Menomonie) (District No. 10); Jim Anderson (Menomonie) (District No. 11); Donald Kuether (Menomonie) (District No. 15); Paul E. DeLong (Menomonie) (District No. 16); Sheila D. Stori (Menomonie) (District No. 18); Mary S. Solberg (District No. 20); Robert G. Walter (Menomonie) (District No. 21); Sarah Kennedy (Menomonie) (District No. 22); James Tripp (Menomonie) (District No. 23); Jerome “Pete” Prochnow (Menomonie) (District No. 24); Elton J. Christopherson (Elk Mound) (District No. 25); David Schaefer (Menomonie) (District No. 26); Dale Harschlip (Mondovi) (District No. 27); Richard L. Creaser (Menomonie) (District No. 28); Gary Seipel (Eau Galle) (District No. 29).