Skip to content

Vote Next Tuesday – Glenwood/Boyceville version

November sixth is just days away and it is a time when all Americans need to participate in their right to vote.

The nation’s general election is all set and the choices that the voters make will determine how our country, state and community will appear in the future.

Not only are we being asked to vote for the President of the United States, but for a new United States Senator, Representative in Congress, state, and county offices.

A Facsimile ballot notice for electors in both St. Croix and Dunn Counties appear in this issue of the Tribune Press Reporter. St. Croix County residents will received a special insert with their copy of this newspaper with the ballot notice in that insert and for Dunn County Residents, that ballot notice is printed inside this edition.

Of course the leading contest in the November sixth election is that for President of the United States. Here incumbent Barack Obama (D) is being challenged by Mitt Romney (R) to lead our country for the next four years. There are a total of seven candidates for President of the United States on the Wisconsin ballot. Others on the ballot include Virgil Goode (Constitution Party); Gary  Johnson (Libertarian Party); Gloria LaRiva (Party for Socialism and Liberation); Jerry White (Socialist Equality party); and Jill Stein (Green Party).

Also on the ballot is the voter’s choice for a new United States Senator from Wisconsin. Our present incumbent Senator, Herb Kohl (D) is not seeking another term. Kohl has served as our Senator for the past 24 years. Seeking to replace him are former Governor, Tommy Thompson (R) and U. S. Representative Tammy Baldwin (D).

Our area has been divided into two separate congressional districts following the redistricting after the 2010 census. Ray Boland (R) will challenge incumbent Ron Kind (D) of the Third District, which includes all of Dunn County, for that seat. St. Croix County has been moved from the Third District into the Seventh Congressional District and the incumbent is Sean Duffy (R) who is being challenged by Pat Kreitlow (D).

In the State Senate District Number 10, Incumbent Sheila Harsdorf  (R), is being challenged by Daniel Olson (D) for the senate seat. District number 10 includes all of St. Croix County, except the Town of Forest, and the following areas of Dunn County: Towns of Lucus, Menomonie, Stanton and Tiffany and the Villages of Boyceville, Downing, Knapp and the City of Menomonie. Harsdorf survived a recall election in June of this year.

Representatives to the State Assembly from this area included District Number 29 with John Murtha (R) the incumbent being challenged by Jim Swanson. The District includes a large portion of St. Croix County and several areas of Dunn County. District Number 67 includes the following Dunn County townships: Colfax, Hay River, Otter Creek, Red Cedar, Sand Creek, Sheridan, Sherman, Spring Brook, Tainter and Wilson, the Villages of Colfax, Elk Mound, Ridgeland and Wheeler. Here, incumbent Tom Larson (R) is being opposed by Deb Bieging (D).

In District 75, which was expanded to included the Town of New Haven and Forest has Roger Rivard (R) the incumbent being opposed by Stephen Smith (D). This area also includes an area in Polk County including Clear Lake.

County Races

There are no races in the November election for county offices in either St. Croix or Dunn County.

In St. Croix County, Eric Johnson (R) is running unopposed to be returned as District Attorney. Cindy Campbell (D) is seeking another term as County Clerk. Laurie A. Noble (R) for County Treasurer and Beth Pabst (D) as Register of Deeds.

In Dunn County, Marilyn Hoyt (D) is seeking another term as County Clerk. Heather M. Kuhn (D) is running as Register of Deeds to replace retiring Jim Mrdutt. Cindy L. Kopp (R) is seeking her first term as County Treasurer in place of retiring Treasurer Mary Erpenbach.