Skip to content

Kopp wins primary for DC treasurer

MENOMONIE — Cindy Kopp has won the August 14 Republican primary election for Dunn County treasurer and will be on the ballot in November.

Kopp, the deputy treasurer in Dunn County, faced challenger Megan Mittlestadt.

Kopp is from Elk Mound, and Mittlestadt is from Boyceville.

Incumbent Dunn County Treasurer Mary Erpenbach will be retiring in January.

According to the unofficial election results from the Dunn County clerk’s website, Kopp received a total of 1,587 votes, and Mittlestadt received 1,050 votes.

Mittlestadt carried the Towns of Hay River, Otter Creek, Sherman, Stanton, and Tiffany, the Village of Boyceville, the Village of Knapp and the Village of Wheeler.

Kopp carried the Towns of Colfax, Dunn, Eau Galle, Elk Mound, Grant, Lucas, Menomonie, Peru, Red Cedar, Rock Creek, Sand Creek, Sheridan, Spring Brook, Tainter, Weston and Wilson, and the Villages of Colfax, Downing and Elk Mound, along with the City of Menomonie.

Register of Deeds

Heather Kuhn, Dunn County Deputy Register of Deeds, will be on the ballot in November to run for the Register of Deeds position.

Incumbent Register of Deeds Jim Mrdutt will be retiring in January.

U.S. Senate

Tommy Thompson, former Wisconsin governor and secretary of Health and Human Services, won the statewide Republican primary for the United States Senate and will face Democratic Congresswoman Tammy Baldwin in the November election.

Thompson received 34 percent of the vote statewide. Eric Hovde, described as a Madison businessman, received 31 percent of the vote.

In the August 14 primary, Thompson received 1,116 votes in Dunn County. Hovde received 601 votes. Former Congressman Mark W. Neumann won 980 votes. State Assembly Speaker Jeff Fitzgerald gathered 148 votes..