Skip to content

Contestants noted for the primary election next Tuesday

Several races have developed for statewide, district and county offices, which will be decided at the primary election on Tuesday, August 14th. The winners will be on the ballot for the general election in November.

The biggest election is the statewide offering for the United States Senator to replace retiring Herb Kohl.

On the Republican ballot, four people are seeking that party’s nomination to be on the November ballot. They are: former Governor Tommy G. Thompson, Eric Hovde, Mark Neumann and Jeff Fitzgerald. Tammy Baldwin is the lone person on the Democratic ballot.

In Wisconsin, voters can only vote for candidates in one political party in the primary.

There are no other contests on the ballots in St. Croix County, but in Dunn County there is a contest for County Treasurer to replace long time treasurer Mary Erpenbach. The candidates, Cindy L. Kopp and Megan Mittlestadt, are both Republicans.

Unopposed in this election, but will face each other in November for offices are the following United States Congressman for the third district are incumbent Ron Kind (D) and Ray Boland (R). For the Seventh Congressional district, incumbent Sean Duffy (R) will face Pat Kreitlow (D).

Under the redistricting, after the 2010 census, St. Croix County was moved from the Third District to the Seventh, but Dunn County remains in the Third District.

The total population in District Seven is 710,873 as of the 2010 census with 50,265 being classified as minority population. The district covers almost the entire northern half of the state. From the 2000 census, the count for minority population in that district was 32,925..